Page 37 of 235 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787137 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 2345
  1. #361
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Haha, yep that worked magic! Thanks lots!!

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Categories and subcategories only... how?

    Hi jettrue and this awesome community. First, props to jettrue for this awesome contribution, a quick and painless install, and it worked right off the bat. Looks fine in IE and Ffox.

    So, with my project site, I have to make the navigation to ONLY be categories. I was first elated to see that someone on page 3 mention this request, but as I read through all the way to page 18, it was never responded to. My site is in a private IP space right now and is not viewable to the public.

    That user who first brought up the question was jtschrade, and he said: "I want to edit this so that the drop down menu is only showing the categories in my catalog (each category name showing horizontally across the top of the website and not showing any of the other stuff listed in the default settings). I'm not sure how to to do that. Any help would be great."

    And that is EXACTLY what I need my flyout navigation to do. I know that I can remove all the unnecessary links in the tpl file, and if I wanted to make the main categories be the ones going horizontally and the subcats vertically, don't I need to somehow edit the code in the tpl file below to that formats the HTML to comply with the css structure?

    Code:
    $menulist = str_replace('"level4"','"level5"',$menulist);^M
     $menulist = str_replace('"level3"','"level4"',$menulist);^M
     $menulist = str_replace('"level2"','"level3"',$menulist);^M
     $menulist = str_replace('"level1"','"level2"',$menulist);^M 
     $menulist = str_replace('<li class="submenu">','<li class="submenu">',$menulist);^M
     $menulist = str_replace("</li>\n</ul>\n</li>\n</ul>\n","</li>\n</ul>\n",$menulist);^
    Again, thanks for your great support and attitude towards this contribution, and I am thanking you in advance.

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Categories and subcategories only... how?

    Hm, I should have read your post first in the last page, about Paul's mod. His looks good and all, but yours is much faster, and isn't buggy in IE6... but let me try his mod first (this one http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=523 ) and see if I can get it stable, thanks!

  4. #364
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Categories and subcategories only... how?

    I'm just going to post what I did here, maybe someone can benefit. So basically I installed jettrue's contribution 100&#37;, but I wanted the "content" of the navigation to only be categories. I looked at the other mod by Paul, but didn't like the sluggishness of it in IE6. But after a few tries, I got to keep the quick responsiveness of jettrue's contribution, and the no-hassle of the .htc and .htaccess nightmare that was required with Paul's mod.

    What I did was, I installed jettrue's original contribution, got it working correctly. Then took Paul's mod, uploaded ONLY the template file (a lot of it was commented out), and the class file, and voila. It works perfectly in IE6 and Firefox.

  5. #365
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    23
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hey quick question, would anyone know why on the main page http://shop.dgbremner.com

    The drop down menu is being cut off by that java slideshow in IE and not firefox?

  6. #366
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Homicide View Post
    Hey quick question, would anyone know why on the main page http://shop.dgbremner.com

    The drop down menu is being cut off by that java slideshow in IE and not firefox?
    Are you still having this issue?

  7. #367
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    23
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    Are you still having this issue?
    Yeah I resorted to adding more text above the slideshow so that the menus don't drop into it anymore. I would appreciate some help with the problem though.

  8. #368
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Homicide View Post
    Yeah I resorted to adding more text above the slideshow so that the menus don't drop into it anymore. I would appreciate some help with the problem though.
    It's probably a z-index issue, and IE probably has a default z-index for java slideshows whereas firefox doesn't. Perhaps you can wrap that slideshow in a div, and give that div a z-index of 0, and see if that does the trick.

  9. #369
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Phoenix Arizona (whew!)
    Posts
    188
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Jade -
    Thank you for this wonderful mod.
    I'm still making adjustments, but I've got one major problem. Somehow, the Mod has forced my logo graphic into a squished up mess (in FF and IE7 both). I'd originally removed your mod because I couldn't figure out how to fix this... and installed the "other" one (which didn't squish my logo).... but the other one was far too much of a problem (I have a *lot* of categories and it became 3 lines deep!) for that mod.

    Please share your wisdom... I've hunted through all 37 pages, and although I saw a similar problem mentioned, I couldn't find the solution for it.
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS]Vicki[/FONT]
    www.moebiusenterprises.com
    Fragrance*jewelry*metaphysical supplies*art*LIFE ... 'bout sums it up....

  10. #370
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebiusenterprises View Post
    Jade -
    Thank you for this wonderful mod.
    I'm still making adjustments, but I've got one major problem. Somehow, the Mod has forced my logo graphic into a squished up mess (in FF and IE7 both). I'd originally removed your mod because I couldn't figure out how to fix this... and installed the "other" one (which didn't squish my logo).... but the other one was far too much of a problem (I have a *lot* of categories and it became 3 lines deep!) for that mod.

    Please share your wisdom... I've hunted through all 37 pages, and although I saw a similar problem mentioned, I couldn't find the solution for it.

    Hmm, I'm not sure that it was the mod, since it looks like you don't have your height and width (180 x 795) for your logo set in includes/languages/english/YOUR_TEMPLATE/header.php

    My mod doesn't include that file. Perhaps your previous includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/common/tpl_header.php had a different way of handling your logo, which didn't require the height and width set in the language file. So either you need to fix the language file I mentioned above, or follow the readme.txt instructions for this mod on what to do if you have a heavily modified tpl_header.php.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Categories dropdown menu/css
    By KenshiroU in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Apr 2013, 01:04 PM
  2. HIde categories mod with css dropdown menu
    By adowty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2012, 01:05 AM
  3. How to use ezpages/categories as dropdown menu in the header?
    By mdivk in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2011, 06:32 PM
  4. whats wrong with this css for my dropdown menu?
    By 1kell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28 May 2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Header Dropdown Menu (CSS) Without the Dropdown???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 May 2009, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR