Page 37 of 67 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 667
  1. #361
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Hey Paul!

    A major rewrite is a major pain, agreed...

    Perhaps a minor update (2.04?) which incorporates some just the minor issues and a new thread 2.04 <> for zencart 1.3.7 ... etc.

    BUT, I'm not familiar with all the niggling issues 2.03 has. I just made it work for me. However, I can see that others may have some fields they'd like to see - switchable in admin of course.

    I'd like to be able to change in admin the field widths of some items (different browsers & mac/pc interepret these differently) would be more user customizable. Just hard coding it now.

    REALLY like to be able to click next <> prev through the category tree without having to use the drop box each time. Haven't attempted though.

    Would also be nice to have the update button change color when you've made changes (don't know if this is doable with current design) and need to update to save changes...

    just tossing out some thoughts....

    Would it be possible to update the installation (and uninstall) instructions / script?
    Seems like THIS issues is the biggest problem that people have.

    Like to hear your thoughts :)

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,987
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Hi chadderuski,

    to be honest I am not interested at all to update 2.03 (or any other 2.x version). If I have a simple fix for something I might (or might not) post it here, but as said I don't know about any issues (other than the one I posted here 2 days ago).

    Would it be possible to update the installation (and uninstall) instructions / script?
    I think the install script is fine. The issues some have they probably have with lots of other sql install scripts too. I can only advise them to use phpMyAdmin (repeating this advice over and over is starting to become very boring though, so I think I give up on that soon..). And if you, or anyone else, wants to rewrite the instructions thats fine with me of course


    And, maybe it were your questions and suggestions that inpired me, but today I decided to work on my new version again and it looks like I can release something soon after all It won't be a "polished" and well supported contribution or something, but only targetted at the ones that are not afraid to experiment a bit now and then

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    324
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Idea or Suggestion Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    I am using the MSRP mod and the quick update, however the quick update updates the Products Price (Net):, the MSRP mod adds Products Cost:.... I would like to add a column to quick update that would update the Products Cost:


    Can this be done?
    Lextechs.com Powered By ZenCart

  4. #364
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,278
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Is there a way to make the picture larger?

    I am trying to modify all the titles and need to see the differences...

  5. #365
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,987
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by milobloom View Post
    Is there a way to make the picture larger?
    in admin\includes\extra_configures\quick_updates.php
    Code:
      define('QUICKUPDATES_DISPLAY_THUMBNAIL_WIDTH', '30');
      define('QUICKUPDATES_DISPLAY_THUMBNAIL_HEIGHT', '');
    And to enlarge the hover image size you need to edit the quick updates stylesheet.

  6. #366
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,987
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by lextechs View Post
    I would like to add a column to quick update that would update the Products Cost:


    Can this be done?
    Adding columns is not complicated, but it does require some custom coding. You can take a look at the code and use the existing columns as an example.

  7. #367
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,278
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    When I change

    define('QUICKUPDATES_DISPLAY_THUMBNAIL_WIDTH', '30');
    define('QUICKUPDATES_DISPLAY_THUMBNAIL_HEIGHT', '');
    It will only display the same size width (The image enlarges but it gets cut off. )

    Is this image supposed to get bigger if I put the mouse over it?
    I have image handler installed. If so sounds like another area to troubleshoot.

  8. #368
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Paul,

    Perhaps you can spot what I'm doing wrong here... I am adding a checkbox for product_is_call (and maybe the others if I figure this out!) and just can't seem to get it to work correctly. This is as CLOSE as I'm getting:

    Code:
    	// product_is_call - added by chadd
        if($_POST['quick_updates_old']['product_is_call']){
          foreach($_POST['quick_updates_old']['product_is_call'] as $products_id => $status) {
            if ($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'][$products_id] != $_POST['quick_updates_old']['product_is_call'][$products_id]) {
              $quick_updates_count['product_is_call'][$products_id] = $products_id;
    		  if (!isset($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'][$products_id])) {
    		  	$db->Execute("UPDATE " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " SET product_is_call='" . '0' . "', products_last_modified=now() WHERE products_id=" . (int)$products_id);
    			}
    		  else {
    		  	$db->Execute("UPDATE " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " SET product_is_call='" . '1' . "', products_last_modified=now() WHERE products_id=" . (int)$products_id);
    			}
    	    }
          }
        }
    This will let me set and unset the product_is_call field, but it does it for every product on the page, not just the one changed.

    If I use "new" instead of "old":

    Code:
    	// product_is_call - added by chadd
        if($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call']){
          foreach($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'] as $products_id => $status) {
            if ($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'][$products_id] != $_POST['quick_updates_old']['product_is_call'][$products_id]) {
              $quick_updates_count['product_is_call'][$products_id] = $products_id;
    		  if (!isset($_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'][$products_id])) {
    		  	$db->Execute("UPDATE " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " SET product_is_call='" . '0' . "', products_last_modified=now() WHERE products_id=" . (int)$products_id);
    			}
    		  else {
    		  	$db->Execute("UPDATE " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " SET product_is_call='" . '1' . "', products_last_modified=now() WHERE products_id=" . (int)$products_id);
    			}
    	    }
          }
        }
    I can only SET the checkmark, not UNSET it, it updates, but doesn't change the database for unsetting checkmark.

    I've tried a dozen different ways, but seem to be missing something... hope you can point me in the right direction!

    -Chaddro

  9. #369
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,987
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Hi Chaddro,

    a problem with check boxes is that they only can be checked, not "unchecked".

    A checked checkbox may post a value of 1 to the next page.
    i.e.: $_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'] = 1

    But an unchecked checkbox does not post any data, and so it is the same as having no checkbox at all. That is why it can only switch on what is off, but not the other way around (I hope this explanation makes sense...).

    A way around this is to use 2 radio inputs (true/false or on/off or whatever). There are other ways to solve it of course, but I think using the radio inputs is the easiest in this case.

  10. #370
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Quick Updates 1.3 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by paulm View Post
    a problem with check boxes is that they only can be checked, not "unchecked".

    A checked checkbox may post a value of 1 to the next page.
    i.e.: $_POST['quick_updates_new']['product_is_call'] = 1

    But an unchecked checkbox does not post any data, and so it is the same as having no checkbox at all. That is why it can only switch on what is off, but not the other way around (I hope this explanation makes sense...).
    Hi Paul,

    Thanks for looking at this. I didn't know this about checkboxes. When you uncheck a checkbox, it doesn't POST anything? Hmmm... I don't have the code in front of me, but some of the extra efforts I saw around product_status is making sense.

    I was able to get the unchecking working, but then the form updated ALL the records on the page for the checkbox instead of just the one changed.

    I am using the "status" checkbox at my roadmap, but missing something. The original programmers added a lot of functionality to status (record filtering) on top of simply changing status. But even when I code it JUST like them, it isn't working.

    I think I am just missing something simple. Nothing like being this >< close, but just not getting it. Your radio button solution makes sense after looking at the regular product editing code. But I'd sure like to use the checkbox... :)

    well, back to the grind stone !

 

 
Page 37 of 67 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Updates
    By jayson.gurney in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 1 Mar 2008, 11:08 AM
  2. Quick Updates 2.0*
    By Doodlebuckets in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6 Jun 2007, 01:32 PM
  3. Quick Updates
    By tuckerm in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16 Dec 2006, 11:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR