Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Remove Weight from step 1 of checkout

    You would need to compare that shipping modules to something like USPS and see what method is used to show or not show the weight ...

    Example, check the ups.php file for where the constant:
    SHIPPING_BOX_WEIGHT_DISPLAY

    is used that controls this from the Admin ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Remove Weight from step 1 of checkout

    Quote Originally Posted by johnd View Post
    I removed the weights from the shipping estimate pop-up and the shopping cart by using the Developer Tool Kit to find the right files that they were in and removed those entries.
    Unfortunately, I didn't record the names of the files I changed. I know that I couldn't figure out how to save the files as overrides.
    It did take me a while of finding the define names and then doing additional searches to find where they were used. I'll try to remember. If I do, I'll post again.
    You can see the result if you go to http://www.rabbitinmyhat.com and take something to the shipping estimator. There is no reference to weight that my customer would see.

    Did you ever remember the files?

    I have removed the mention of "weight" everywhere except on the "shipping estimator" pop-up.

    This is the last place I have to do!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Remove Weight from step 1 of checkout

    If there isn't a switch on the Shipping Estimator to remove the totals but you can customize the template tpl_modules_shipping_estimator.php in your templates and overrides and comment out the display for:
    Code:
    <?php if (!empty($totalsDisplay)) { ?>
    <div class="cartTotalsDisplay important"><?php echo $totalsDisplay; ?></div>
    <?php } ?>
    and below that for:
    Code:
    <?php if (!empty($totalsDisplay)) { ?>
    <div class="cartTotalsDisplay important"><?php echo $totalsDisplay; ?></div>
    <?php } ?>
    But first try the switch in the Configuration ... Layout Settings ...
    Shopping Cart - Show Totals
    Show Totals Above Shopping Cart?
    0= off
    1= on: Items Weight Amount
    2= on: Items Weight Amount, but no weight when 0
    3= on: Items Amount
    Last edited by Ajeh; 1 Mar 2009 at 04:03 PM.
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Remove Weight from step 1 of checkout

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeh View Post
    If there isn't a switch on the Shipping Estimator to remove the totals but you can customize the template tpl_modules_shipping_estimator.php in your templates and overrides and comment out the display for:
    Code:
    <?php if (!empty($totalsDisplay)) { ?>
    <div class="cartTotalsDisplay important"><?php echo $totalsDisplay; ?></div>
    <?php } ?>
    and below that for:
    Code:
    <?php if (!empty($totalsDisplay)) { ?>
    <div class="cartTotalsDisplay important"><?php echo $totalsDisplay; ?></div>
    <?php } ?>
    But first try the switch in the Configuration ... Layout Settings ...
    What about:

    Config > Shipping/Packaging > Display Number of Boxes and Weight Status > Set to 0

    That removed the weight from the shipping estimator for me!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Remove Weight from step 1 of checkout

    thanks for the post

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Remove Billing Address from Step 2 of checkout
    By rc2008 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31 Dec 2012, 11:05 AM
  2. Remove Continue checkout button from step 2 of 3
    By barendfaber in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21 Feb 2012, 09:42 AM
  3. Remove weight from checkout and shipping estimator.
    By MoonCow in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25 Feb 2009, 06:58 PM
  4. remove weight from checkout (zones shipping)
    By fulltilt in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1 Jan 2009, 04:52 PM
  5. Remove CC option from checkout step 2
    By blob in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3 Feb 2008, 05:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR