Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default HTML code being displayed in description fields

    Hi all

    I have recently had to make some amendments to Admin/categories.php and I have somehow messed up.

    All Category and Item descriptions are displaying as HTML code instead of the cleaned up text:

    <p>Tara is used to being seen as a commodity, from when she was a child and her mother gave her away to settle a gambling debt to now, as a highly sought after prize in a game of chance. She never believed her future could be anything else until she met Kyle, himself damaged from the loss of his family.</p>

    <p>They must overcome incredible odds and travel the world to be together - culminating in the most devastating of betrayals.</p>

    <p>Fate brought them together. Can The Game keep them apart?<br />
    &nbsp;</p>

    I don't recall changing the clean-up code. Can anyone advise please?

    Code attached

    Thanks

    Owen
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: HTML code being displayed in description fields

    While I haven't looked at the attached file yet, the issue may be on the catalog side instead of the admin side.

    Couple of questions, what type of editor has been being used? Ie. Html editor or just plain text? Has the usage of that editor been changed
    Is the converted text only being seen in the admin or is it being seeing in the catalog as well?
    Is the issue in the catalog only being seen on certain categories or all categories?
    Have all categories been edited or just a few?

    Why is this store still operating on ZC 1.5.1 which is some 7+ years old and not yet been upgraded to something operating on current software?
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML code being displayed in description fields

    Thanks mc12345678.

    I discovered the issue early this morning. Somehow my CKEditor install had got lost on the library side. All is well again.

    The reason we have stuck with v1.5.1 is because we do not use the full features of the shopping cart. We have removed all logins and track downloads per book in the background as we run an annual membership not price per book. With the amount of changes we have made over the years it is quite a daunting task to upgrade everything ... maybe at a later date!!!

    Just one final question: in Admin/includes/modules/category_product_listing.php I want to check the existence of a series file on the server (I already have the code for that\) but I am having difficulty in drawing down the current cat_series_link.

    I amended the sql to:

    $categories = $db->Execute("select c.categories_id, cd.categories_name, cd.categories_description, c.categories_image,
    c.parent_id, c.sort_order, c.date_added, c.last_modified,
    c.categories_status, c.cat_series_link
    from " . TABLE_CATEGORIES . " c, " . TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION . " cd
    where c.categories_id = cd.categories_id
    and cd.language_id = '" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "'
    and cd.categories_name like '%" . zen_db_input($search) . "%'" .
    $order_by);
    } else {
    $categories = $db->Execute("select c.categories_id, cd.categories_name, cd.categories_description, c.categories_image,
    c.parent_id, c.sort_order, c.date_added, c.last_modified,
    c.categories_status
    from " . TABLE_CATEGORIES . " c, " . TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION . " cd
    where c.parent_id = '" . (int)$current_category_id . "'
    and c.categories_id = cd.categories_id
    and cd.language_id = '" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "'" .
    $order_by);
    }

    but when I add , c.cat_series_link into the second half it crashes with an error warning.

    What i am trying to do is:

    $current_cat_series_link = $categories->fields['cat_series_link'];

    so that this can be used with the file existence test.

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML code being displayed in description fields

    Quote Originally Posted by OwenB View Post
    Thanks mc12345678.

    I discovered the issue early this morning. Somehow my CKEditor install had got lost on the library side. All is well again.

    The reason we have stuck with v1.5.1 is because we do not use the full features of the shopping cart. We have removed all logins and track downloads per book in the background as we run an annual membership not price per book. With the amount of changes we have made over the years it is quite a daunting task to upgrade everything ... maybe at a later date!!!

    Just one final question: in Admin/includes/modules/category_product_listing.php I want to check the existence of a series file on the server (I already have the code for that\) but I am having difficulty in drawing down the current cat_series_link.

    I amended the sql to:

    $categories = $db->Execute("select c.categories_id, cd.categories_name, cd.categories_description, c.categories_image,
    c.parent_id, c.sort_order, c.date_added, c.last_modified,
    c.categories_status, c.cat_series_link
    from " . TABLE_CATEGORIES . " c, " . TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION . " cd
    where c.categories_id = cd.categories_id
    and cd.language_id = '" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "'
    and cd.categories_name like '%" . zen_db_input($search) . "%'" .
    $order_by);
    } else {
    $categories = $db->Execute("select c.categories_id, cd.categories_name, cd.categories_description, c.categories_image,
    c.parent_id, c.sort_order, c.date_added, c.last_modified,
    c.categories_status
    from " . TABLE_CATEGORIES . " c, " . TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION . " cd
    where c.parent_id = '" . (int)$current_category_id . "'
    and c.categories_id = cd.categories_id
    and cd.language_id = '" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "'" .
    $order_by);
    }

    but when I add , c.cat_series_link into the second half it crashes with an error warning.

    What i am trying to do is:

    $current_cat_series_link = $categories->fields['cat_series_link'];

    so that this can be used with the file existence test.

    Thanks in advance

    I have taken your advice and loaded v1.5.6 on to a secondary server... maybe not as daunting as I thought at first sight

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML code being displayed in description fields

    Quote Originally Posted by OwenB View Post
    I have taken your advice and loaded v1.5.6 on to a secondary server... maybe not as daunting as I thought at first sight
    I have to admit that the coding is far superior to v1.5.1 and so easy to delete all the input fields that we will never need!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v155 Problem: HTML being displayed as text
    By Feznizzle in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8 Dec 2017, 07:34 PM
  2. HTML code appearing in Product description
    By irishshopper in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11 Jul 2011, 12:55 AM
  3. HTML code in Product Description
    By irishshopper in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15 Apr 2010, 01:51 AM
  4. Product Description is not being displayed.
    By surabisantosh in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10 Jan 2007, 03:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR