DK_Scully:
RodG, yes, I created the database first. Sorry about ordering them wrong.
No problem. Just needed to be sure about that before delving deeper.
DK_Scully:
I understood the instructions to be, create a new database, re-upload everything else, make changes to the old configure.php files, upload them after everything else has been uploaded.
That'll work ok (or should), but I've noticed in some of the more recent posts by DrByte that he is recommending creating a new DB, doing a fresh install with the latest update (which will create valid config files) and then importing the original database and uploading any custom files. (At least I think that is the order he suggested). The end result being there will be no need to manually edit the confg files (which more often than not is where people go wrong).
DK_Scully:
but it doesn't solve the problem I was having that none of my site mods showed up. I had changed the template completely, and added a ton of categories to the original site. None of that showed up,
I can understand why the template changes may not show up (missing files, sometimes caused by a bad upload), but the missing categories is a bit of a mystery unless something went amiss with the database import (the only other reason would be that you aren't using the correct databse).
DK_Scully:
so I re-uploaded the modified configure.php files in hopes that would help.
One can hope.
DK_Scully:
I have about 8 sites to move, and they all have running ZenCart databases that cannot be lost.
Quite understandable. It is the database files that is the most important thing to maintain during any upgrade. You can completely trash a zencart installation, but as long as you have a good copy of the most recent database the store can be fully recovered. If you lose the database you are pretty much starting afresh.
DK_Scully:
I chose to move this one first because it's still in progress, not active. But following the instructions only brought up the basic "generic" site, not all the mods I'd made. So still, something is wrong, and I don't know how to fix it.
One of these days I'm going to have a read of those instructions myself. LOL. Seriously though, I have my own methods of doing the upgrades, but it isn't method I'd recommend for folk with a lot less experience - it basically involves making a copy of he original site, uploading all the new files, overwriting any existing ones, and then checking for and fixing anything that got busted in the process. When satisfied with the results I place the original site into maintenance mode and make the 'copy' become the 'active' site. It is a bit of a 'sledgehammer' approach in that I don't bother comparing for file changes (which would avoid the need for debugging and fixing), but it works for me. Definitely NOT the method to use without having extensive debugging and coding experience though.
I think the point I'm trying to make here is that there are several different approaches that can be taken when upgrading, ranging from the 'safe' way (which I assume is the approach taken in the upgrade instructions), the 'dangerous' way (The method I use), and something in between these two methods, which would depend on the persons skillset and the particular site being upgraded (how many custom modifications does it have, how many add-ons, etc).
Alas, telling you all this doesn't really help with your problem(s) though.
Cheers
RodG