The site is live. Feel free to visit at http://www.blick.co.nz
DrByte:
If a customer is in checkout flow and needs to login, it does redirect them back to where they came from.
For non-checkout pages, it does not.
Are you concerned only about product pages at this point?
Which product-types are you using in your store?
OK, this has clarified what is going on. On a development install I tried changing the store to displaying prices all the time so I could see how it would work in that scenario. Having done some testing, I now understand why there isn't the public outcry that I'd have expected there to be. If your store displays prices even when someone isn't logged in, and you can "Add to Cart", then people usually will do that. When they go into the checkout process, they are then seamlessly returned to where they'd expect to be.
My client's store is not an usual e-commerce site. Rather, it is an online ordering system for their approved account customers. For reasons based on a clear business rationale, they do not want to display prices on the site to non-approved customers. Currently, I have the site set up to just say "Login for price" next to the products themselves. The customer uses the "Log In" link on the navigation bar, as I've removed other Log In links from the page... there were just too many. (Perhaps this is where I went wrong.)
This might indicate a solution. If there was a "Buy Now" button next to a product, even without it displaying prices, could this somehow put them into the checkout flow and thus at least return them to a vaguely sensible location?
But what I really want, is that when someone clicks that "Log In" link on the navigation bar they are returned after log in to whatever page they clicked it from... whether it be a category listing, or an individual product page, or a EZ Page, or whatever. To me, this is the obvious and expected behaviour that a site user would expect... Can it be done?
dbltoe:
Is the customer sent to the site to be authorized or discovers the site and wants to be authorized? Not having prices shown would not generally be conducive to getting me in a buying mode.
If you create an account in advance for the customer, they will, as Dr Byte says, be able to do what you wish BUT (in my experience) they will still need to login before it happens due to the setup you've chosen.
As above, the client has a clear rationale and business plan about how they want to use the site. It is not intended to drive casual sales, but rather to support orders from account customers and to encourage new account customers. And I am talking about people who are already authorised customers who are returning to the store but who start browsing before they think to log in. We just don't want to annoy them every time they use the site. (It annoys us, so it will definitely annoy the customers.