Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default broken code in ezpage name

    I'm just getting started on the rebirth of my site that includes the implementation of zen-cart as more of a showcase for my companies services.

    The problem i'm having is the ezpages i'm making are broken. That is, when the page loads, I have a line of broken code at the top and i'm not sure where its coming from.

    Now, i'll try to explain what I've done to my ezpage bar to see if that helps any: You'll notice
    Code:
    I have used a button image for <a> and another for <a: hover>
    for my ezpage links. These images do not include the icon you see next to the link within. To display these icons, I included the code
    Code:
    <img src="images/imagename.png">&nbsp;Page Name
    - into the ezpage description via the admin console.

    The idea works for the existing category and contact us pages but when it loads an ezpage, I get the broken code on top of the page. Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

    www.contriveitnow.com/Rebirth

    Thanks!
    Last edited by contrive.it; 1 Sep 2011 at 01:12 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    1,911
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    I don't see any ezpages.

    Tina

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    So you put the HTML for the icon into the ez-page name (not description). Wherever HTML is processed, that works, but the tab title (which I presume you mean by "top of the page") does not process HTML. It just displays the beginning of the page name, which is code.
    You will have to come up with another way to get the button/icon images. Ezpages Improved Menus allows images to be substituted for text, but it does not handle different images for hover. The code that does the substitution could be modified to add instead of substitute.


    Resources and Know Us are ez-pages.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Quote Originally Posted by charmedbytina2 View Post
    I don't see any ezpages.

    Tina
    Hi Tina,

    The custom made ezpages are resources and know us. When you click on either link, look at the top of the page and you will see the broken code. The menu bar you see below the nav bar is actually my customized css version of the ezpages top div.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Quote Originally Posted by gjh42 View Post
    So you put the HTML for the icon into the ez-page name (not description). Wherever HTML is processed, that works, but the tab title (which I presume you mean by "top of the page") does not process HTML. It just displays the beginning of the page name, which is code.
    You will have to come up with another way to get the button/icon images. Ezpages Improved Menus allows images to be substituted for text, but it does not handle different images for hover. The code that does the substitution could be modified to add instead of substitute.


    Resources and Know Us are ez-pages.
    Yes, I meant page name, not description, sorry. I get what you're saying but the :hover images are in css, not in the page name.

    The icons next the the page name are coded into the page name. This seems to work for internal/preexisting pages such as categories and contact us, but when it loads a custom ezpage, i get what seems to be metatag description at the top. Its hard to see because its black against the dark green background, but its there.

    Thanks for checking on this for me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    OK, I see that now. It is probably the HTML <img> code in the title breaking the metatag output.

    I know the :hover images are in the CSS; that's why the mod I suggested doesn't affect them. I have actually just finished modifying the function that does the substitution in that mod so that it can be set to add an icon instead of swapping it for the text. It would allow you to do exactly what you want, using CSS as you have it now, plus automatically adding the individual icon to the text in that menu only.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Yea... I see now after downloading the page and taking a closer look that its not handling the img tags properly...

    Code:
    <title>&lt;img src="images/re.png"&gt;Resources&nbsp;&nbsp; : Contrive 
    I.T., Greater New Orleans Computer Service And Consulting Concierge</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
    <meta name="keywords" content="Services Products New Orleans Metairie Kenner Harahan River Ridge Westwego Gretna Marrero  &lt;img src=" images="" re.png"=""></head><body abprocessed="1" id="pageBody">Resources&nbsp;&nbsp;" /&gt;
    <meta name="description" content="Contrive I.T. : &lt;img src=" images="" re.png"="">Resources&nbsp;&nbsp; - Services Products New Orleans Metairie Kenner Harahan River Ridge Westwego Gretna Marrero " /&gt;
    Id surly appreciate your contribution as this seems to be a novel idea that noone I have seen has tried before. It opens up a new venue of customization to the ezpagestop menu. Just seems funny that it works on the preexisting pages and not the new customized pages.
    Last edited by contrive.it; 1 Sep 2011 at 03:07 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Since the problem only occurs when the actual ez-page is displaying, non-ez-pages (whether preexisting or new) will not encounter it. The title used in the ez-pages menu is not the source of the non-ez-pages' actual titles.

    Ezpages Improved Menus has been out since last December, but not many have used it yet. I will post the modified function file and the change to be made in the tpl_ file so you can test it. If it works as expected, I will update the mod with the added functionality.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Awesome, Rock On Bro!! Ill be glad to beta test for you.

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: broken code in ezpages

    Just tried posting code and got an error... will try to resolve.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v139h breadcrumbs for ezpage suddenly has a category name in it
    By delia in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29 Feb 2012, 09:30 PM
  2. Backup ZC Broken after changing admin folder name
    By SethF in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13 Nov 2011, 04:42 PM
  3. Navigation snapshot code broken?
    By Alex Clarke in forum General Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24 Feb 2010, 03:20 PM
  4. EZpage link to non-ssl page broken
    By xtinexoop in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16 Nov 2007, 04:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR