Page 142 of 224 FirstFirst ... 4292132140141142143144152192 ... LastLast
Results 1,411 to 1,420 of 2237
  1. #1411
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    Hi Zenners..
    Apologies if this is a repeat post.. this is such a HUGE topic..

    Have been running the Multisite successfully for a while now, loving it.. I recently introduced a new product range however and have products separated between different sites.
    So in short:
    SITE 1 - sells products a,b,c,d
    SITE 2 - Sells Products E,F,G,H
    SITE 3 - Sells Products Z,X,C,V

    No products from site 1 show on site 3. Works GREAT! HOWEVER, the specials for all the sites seem to be linked somehow and there doesnt seem to be a differentiation/separation in specials between each of the sites.

    For instance when i click on the specials tab (at the bottom of the category tab), it shows me ALL the specials from ALL the site not just for SITE 1. Has anyone managed to come up with a solution for this.

    Or does anyone know where i might find the file that controls these specials.. Im assuming it would simply need the addition of the config_sites function somewhere... but where?

    Thanks in advance.
    Brit

  2. #1412
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    OkiDoki

    Ive managed to fond the file:
    tpl_specials_default.php (in the template file) when i delete the template version of the file it works DANDY-SUPER,

    But for those who wish to keep the template version of this file, the for visual appearances etc..etc.. you will need to edit the following bit of code:

    $specials_split = new splitPageResults($specials_query_raw, MAX_DISPLAY_SPECIAL_PRODUCTS);
    Replace by:
    $specials_split = new splitPageResults(cat_filter($specials_query_raw), MAX_DISPLAY_SPECIAL_PRODUCTS);


    Quote Originally Posted by britneycook View Post
    Hi Zenners..
    Apologies if this is a repeat post.. this is such a HUGE topic..

    Have been running the Multisite successfully for a while now, loving it.. I recently introduced a new product range however and have products separated between different sites.
    So in short:
    SITE 1 - sells products a,b,c,d
    SITE 2 - Sells Products E,F,G,H
    SITE 3 - Sells Products Z,X,C,V

    No products from site 1 show on site 3. Works GREAT! HOWEVER, the specials for all the sites seem to be linked somehow and there doesnt seem to be a differentiation/separation in specials between each of the sites.

    For instance when i click on the specials tab (at the bottom of the category tab), it shows me ALL the specials from ALL the site not just for SITE 1. Has anyone managed to come up with a solution for this.

    Or does anyone know where i might find the file that controls these specials.. Im assuming it would simply need the addition of the config_sites function somewhere... but where?

    Thanks in advance.
    Brit

  3. #1413
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    43
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    Hello everyone,

    I'm interested in using the MultiSite Module.
    Basically, i want to have two sites running from the same database.

    My 2 sites will graphically look almost the same, maybe i'll have some small differences; with promos, banners etc...

    However, i want to have one major difference between both sites:

    1. First one will be a normal e-commerce site for large public.

    2. For the second one, i want it to be private and reserved for professionals only. Here i would like to have a same products as the first website, but i don't want to show any prices!

    Why, because i want the professional users on the second site to be able to use the shopping cart functions, but instead of ordering and paying for the selected products, i want them to ask the Shop owner for a quote instead.
    Basically what i am saying is - i want a catalogue, but i want to keep the shopping cart without prices, tax, coupons etc...

    Please let me know if this is possible with MultiSite and zencart?

    Best regards,
    baz°

  4. #1414
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    64
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by bazfr View Post
    Hello everyone,

    I'm interested in using the MultiSite Module.
    Basically, i want to have two sites running from the same database.

    My 2 sites will graphically look almost the same, maybe i'll have some small differences; with promos, banners etc...

    However, i want to have one major difference between both sites:

    1. First one will be a normal e-commerce site for large public.

    2. For the second one, i want it to be private and reserved for professionals only. Here i would like to have a same products as the first website, but i don't want to show any prices!

    Why, because i want the professional users on the second site to be able to use the shopping cart functions, but instead of ordering and paying for the selected products, i want them to ask the Shop owner for a quote instead.
    Basically what i am saying is - i want a catalogue, but i want to keep the shopping cart without prices, tax, coupons etc...

    Please let me know if this is possible with MultiSite and zencart?

    Best regards,
    baz°

    Yes this is possible, I run multisite and although its very good, it does have some flaws like not being updated in 2 years, when adding the custom code to the back end you will not be able to edit some of the newer pages with the latest version, but form what I can see the ones I couldn't edit, the sites still run well.

    Remember you need to be able to have 2 domain names piping into the same webspace, a lot of hosts dont like you doing this.

    f thats the case the only way around this is to use subdomains, ie www.mysite.com for the customer site, and something like private.mysite.com as the business site.


    Due to the seperate domains we actually run our multisites on seperate webspaces but they share the same db etc, and this works ok, as long as you do not want cross cart shopping (then it gets tricky, but still doable).

  5. #1415
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    This is my first attempt at installing multisite. I'm a little confused. I have everything set up correctly based on reading through this long thread. I have the config files right (I think!). At least they are all there and the switch code is added to the config file. I'm using 2 subdomains and the cart is installed on a third (the root) domain as http://maindomain.com/shoppingcart

    config file 1 is called store.swamppuppy.com_config.php
    <?php
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');
    $template_dir = "swamppuppy";
    define('SITE_NAME','swamppuppy');
    define('STORE_OWNER_EMAIL_ADDRESS','[email protected]');
    define('CATEGORIES_ROOT','1'); //root categories is 1 for this site
    ?>

    config file 2 is called store.beautiful-glass.com_config.php
    <?php
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');
    $template_dir = "beautiful-glass";
    define('SITE_NAME','beautiful-glass');
    define('CATEGORIES_ROOT','2'); //root categories is 1 for this site
    ?>

    The relevant parts of the configuration file says:include_once('includes/config_sites/sites_switch.php');
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('ENABLE_SSL', 'true');
    ('DIR_WS_CATALOG', 'home/maindomain/shoppingcart/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', 'home/maindomain/shoppingcart/');

    the templates are called swamppuppy and beautiful-glass (could the hyphen cause me problems? How do I get around that when that is the domain?)

    The error I'm getting is:

    1054 Unknown column 'CATEGORIES_ROOT' in 'where clause'
    in:
    [select cd.categories_name from categories c, categories_description cd where cd.categories_description LIKE '%-SITE_NAME-%' AND cd.language_id=1 AND c.parent_id = CATEGORIES_ROOT and c.categories_id = cd.categories_id and cd.language_id='1' and c.categories_status=1]

    I have categories defined - one for swamppuppy and one for beautiful glass with one test product in each. This is a new Zencart install with nothing other than multisite.

    What am I missing? I am pulling my hair out! Thanks for any insight...

  6. #1416
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    I have read this entire thread and have numerous mentions of the problem I have but no detailed explanation on how to correct the issue.

    I did read someone that more details have to go into the domainname_config.php files but no further information.

    I do not see my site products or template when I go to the site. I look at the source and it's calling the template_default template and not the templates I specify in the config files. Am I missing something?

  7. #1417
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    It appears there is a regular progression of events with this module. First you have the domain not found error (which I got & fixed), then the 1054unknown column categories root error (which I solved - will explain in a moment) and now I have the template not showing up and links not working error. I wish someone would give better instructions as it seems there are so many of us stumbling in the dark and having the same problems over and over!

    As for fixing this - it WAS the missing line from the configuration file. What happened in my case is FTP would say it uploaded the file (and the permissions were 777 so it SHOULD have overwritten the old one) but it never did. The way I found out was to download the file on the server and that's how I discovered the fixed file was never uploaded. I had to delete the server one and reupload it with the missing line - or it wouldn't overwrite it. Very strange. So the various parts of this looooong thread are correct in that you need to add

    include_once('includes/config_sites/sites_switch.php');

    on the first line (after <?php) in the configuration file.

    I am now trying to figure out the template not working problem. It's showing the correct info for each site, but it's like there's no style sheet and the links don't work. I saw this mentioned elsewhere but because the thread is so long, am having trouble finding it. If anyone knows the solution or where it is, I would appreciate the link to that part of the thread.

  8. #1418
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by metoo View Post
    It appears there is a regular progression of events with this module. First you have the domain not found error (which I got & fixed), then the 1054unknown column categories root error (which I solved - will explain in a moment) and now I have the template not showing up and links not working error. I wish someone would give better instructions as it seems there are so many of us stumbling in the dark and having the same problems over and over!
    Yes, I had the exact same progression of errors and it appears that we are in the same place now: Template issues. Mine is calling the template_default files rather than my designated templates.

    If I figure it out, I'll post the fix -- please do the same. That way maybe we can help others out that are having this issue as from the various posts on the subject we aren't the only ones.

  9. #1419
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    Could this issue have to do with the SSL?

    A little background:

    I am implementing Multisite on a test environment (a remote staging server rather than a local install). I have Zen Cart installed into a directory (ex. www.domain.com/shop) with the two subdomains (shop.domain.com and catalog.domain.com) pointed to the Zen Cart installed directory.

    I have matched up the
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.domain.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://www.domain.com');
    exactly how it is in the includes/config.php file but the SSL we will be using is really for our live site and not the testing server.

    Can I comment out the define('HTTPS_SERVER' and define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATLOG' to make it work or does anyone have any other solutions?

  10. #1420
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: MultiSite Module Support Thread

    I have my stores configured like yours and am using a shared SSL too. That was not the problem with the templates in my case...it was something so ridiculously simple...in the domain.com_config.php files in the config_sites directory I had a url in place of the /. It should be:

    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');

    That's all...once I removed the urls, the templates and the links to other pages worked!

    I guess I'm on to the next hurdle...looks like a lot of people have problems with the sidebars...<fingers crossed I won't>...

    Hope this helps you too!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v154 WorldPay Module version 3.0 - Support thread
    By countrycharm in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 20 Jul 2021, 04:00 PM
  2. Bambora/Beanstream Payment Module Support Thread
    By swguy in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 127
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2021, 04:13 PM
  3. WorldPay Module version 2.0 - Support thread
    By philip_clarke in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 729
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2017, 08:23 AM
  4. PC Configurator Module [Support Thread]
    By lebrand2006 in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 254
    Last Post: 22 Aug 2012, 03:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR