Page 156 of 217 FirstFirst ... 56106146154155156157158166206 ... LastLast
Results 1,551 to 1,560 of 2161
  1. #1551
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Good point here. This is actually how Google sees it and would be 'correct' to some degree (nothing with the module itself ... more with how Google reads the info).

    Here is what I mean:

    If you look at it from Google's perspective, there were only "2" unique products (by product id / model) ordered yet there were "3" variations of products in all.

    So from Google's end, it reads it as two unique products (which is correct) one of which has '2 variations' (but in fact is the same product as the first.)

    Does that make sense?
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  2. #1552
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    1,948
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by econcepts View Post
    Good point here. This is actually how Google sees it and would be 'correct' to some degree (nothing with the module itself ... more with how Google reads the info).

    Here is what I mean:

    If you look at it from Google's perspective, there were only "2" unique products (by product id / model) ordered yet there were "3" variations of products in all.

    So from Google's end, it reads it as two unique products (which is correct) one of which has '2 variations' (but in fact is the same product as the first.)

    Does that make sense?
    What you're saying make sense but it's a faulty logic on Google's part. Obviously, if the product ID is the same Google analytic should be smart enough to show the variation.

    So in my example, even if google is only reporting one product A, if they are not going to report the variation they should at least count all for that id. So if a customer buys 2 small t-shirt and 2 medium shirt, if Google is only going to report it as a t-shirt the count should be 4 NOT two units.

    Oh well!

  3. #1553
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    DownUnder, overlooking South Pole.
    Posts
    978
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Apologies if this has been answered before in this long thread, however...

    I created a new page called "main", which has its own "tpl_main_page.php" in \includes\templates\mytemplate\main\ because its layout is different from all other pages.

    (Background: This new page was originally the homepage of my old site, but upon migrating the site to zen cart, "index.php" has become the homepage. Wishing to retain the content and layout of the old homepage, I had to create a new page called "main".)

    1. Just before the </body> at the bottom of the "main" page, I inserted the following code as instructed:

    Code:
    <!-- Google Analytics 1-2-3 start-->
    <?php
    if (GOOGLE_ANALYTICS_TRACKING_TYPE == "Asynchronous") {
    // Do nothing
    } else {
    require($template->get_template_dir('.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'google_analytics') . '/google_analytics.php');
    }
    ?>
    <!-- Google Analytics 1-2-3 end-->
    and then removed the "/" before "google_analytics.php".

    2. I then placed a copy of "google_analytics.php"
    from
    includes\templates\mytemplate\google_analytics\
    into
    \includes\templates\mytemplate\main\

    However, while the above throws no errors and because my zen cart is still under development on localhost, I have no idea whether the above actually works on a live site or indeed is the correct way to invoke google analytics for this one page.

    Comments/Criticisms most appreciated.

  4. #1554
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by dw08gm View Post
    Apologies if this has been answered before in this long thread, however...

    I created a new page called "main", which has its own "tpl_main_page.php" in \includes\templates\mytemplate\main\ because its layout is different from all other pages.

    (Background: This new page was originally the homepage of my old site, but upon migrating the site to zen cart, "index.php" has become the homepage. Wishing to retain the content and layout of the old homepage, I had to create a new page called "main".)

    1. Just before the </body> at the bottom of the "main" page, I inserted the following code as instructed:

    Code:
    <!-- Google Analytics 1-2-3 start-->
    <?php
    if (GOOGLE_ANALYTICS_TRACKING_TYPE == "Asynchronous") {
    // Do nothing
    } else {
    require($template->get_template_dir('.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'google_analytics') . '/google_analytics.php');
    }
    ?>
    <!-- Google Analytics 1-2-3 end-->
    and then removed the "/" before "google_analytics.php".

    2. I then placed a copy of "google_analytics.php"
    from
    includes\templates\mytemplate\google_analytics\
    into
    \includes\templates\mytemplate\main\

    However, while the above throws no errors and because my zen cart is still under development on localhost, I have no idea whether the above actually works on a live site or indeed is the correct way to invoke google analytics for this one page.

    Comments/Criticisms most appreciated.
    This is one way to do it. The way to see if it will work is to look at the page on your local server and simply "view source" (from the browser). If you see the Google Analytics code on the page you're all set.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  5. #1555
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    I have changed templates, what do I need to do to get analytics working again?

  6. #1556
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    1,948
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Does anybody know the benefit of using Asynchronous Snippet versus ga.js option? I've read on Google analytics and still not sure what the benefit is even though they are promotion the Asynchronous Snippet method.

    Thanks!

  7. #1557
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    DownUnder, overlooking South Pole.
    Posts
    978
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by econcepts View Post
    This is one way to do it. The way to see if it will work is to look at the page on your local server and simply "view source" (from the browser). If you see the Google Analytics code on the page you're all set.
    Hi econcepts. Thanks for your prompt reply.

    Yes, the code does appear in view source.

    On further thought, however, I am wondering how else to access the original google_analytics.php in includes\templates\mytemplate\google_analytics\.

    It seems I only need to change the "$current_page_base" in the following code at the bottom of my new tpl_main_page.php to reference /mytemplate/, but which is currently rendering as "main" .

    Code:
    require($template->get_template_dir('.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'google_analytics') . 'google_analytics.php');
    Any thoughts or solutions.

  8. #1558
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by kolivo View Post
    I have changed templates, what do I need to do to get analytics working again?
    Follow the install instructions in the readme file (no need to reapply any admin SQL patches.) You'll need to make any code changes (to the tpl_main_page.php, and the html_header.php within your new template and also make sure you copy the "google-analytics" directory to your new template folder as well.

    Basically, if you go through the readme and follow the instructions but skip the part about installing the SQL patch, you should be ok.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  9. #1559
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by BlessIsaacola View Post
    Does anybody know the benefit of using Asynchronous Snippet versus ga.js option? I've read on Google analytics and still not sure what the benefit is even though they are promotion the Asynchronous Snippet method.

    Thanks!
    Of course they say there are more tracking options with the new snippet (if you know how to find them and activate them in analytics.) One thing they say is the asych tracking loads at the top of the page (instead of the bottom as in the past) which helps a number of tracking issues. It also is apparently 'faster' in loading the way it calls the script etc...

    I can say that if you are running any Website Optimizer experiments that having the code at the top of the page will help as often times it is needed to be placed before any Optimizer code on the page.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  10. #1560
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by dw08gm View Post
    Hi econcepts. Thanks for your prompt reply.

    Yes, the code does appear in view source.

    On further thought, however, I am wondering how else to access the original google_analytics.php in includes\templates\mytemplate\google_analytics\.

    It seems I only need to change the "$current_page_base" in the following code at the bottom of my new tpl_main_page.php to reference /mytemplate/, but which is currently rendering as "main" .

    Code:
    require($template->get_template_dir('.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'google_analytics') . 'google_analytics.php');
    Any thoughts or solutions.
    If the code is showing on you page when you view source then you should have to change anything. The tracking is installed correctly.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Simple Google Analytics .sql error !
    By Miff in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 Feb 2012, 11:33 PM
  2. Simple Google Analytics-not working
    By RobertG in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11 Nov 2010, 06:07 PM
  3. Simple (From Google) Analytics Install
    By DagLindt in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 May 2009, 10:46 PM
  4. Simple google analytics- help
    By Pet Herbal Remedies in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1 Oct 2008, 10:37 PM
  5. Simple Google Analytics not working
    By jvanree in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29 May 2008, 03:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR