Page 8 of 235 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 2345
  1. #71
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    Hmm, what version of zen cart are you using?
    v.1.37. The shop is running on PHP 5.16

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    I don't see anything wrong with your code.
    Me neither. I'm going blind looking at it. The menu works fine except when I insert:
    Code:
    <?php require(DIR_WS_MODULES . 'sideboxes/' . $template_dir . '/' . 'ezpages_drop_menu.php'); ?>
    Menu stops rendering at the point the above code is inserted. When I remove the code the menu works fine. Go figure.

    Woody

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Woodymon View Post
    v.1.37. The shop is running on PHP 5.16


    Me neither. I'm going blind looking at it. The menu works fine except when I insert:
    Code:
    <?php require(DIR_WS_MODULES . 'sideboxes/' . $template_dir . '/' . 'ezpages_drop_menu.php'); ?>
    Menu stops rendering at the point the above code is inserted. When I remove the code the menu works fine. Go figure.

    Woody
    Is there an error in your log files? is the ezpages_drop_menu.php loaded in your includes/modules/sideboxes/YOUR_TEMPLATE folder?

    Attached is the full ezpages_drop_menu.php file (in text form), just in case something else is off.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    For those who are adding the ezpages functionality to this mod, I made errors in the file locations. They should be:

    includes/modules/sideboxes/YOUR_TEMPLATE/ezpages_drop_menu.php
    includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/templates/tpl_ezpages_drop_menu.php
    NOT!

    The last path above should be:
    includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/sideboxes/tpl_ezpages_drop_menu.php

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    I wish I could edit old posts!
    Me too! I got it wrong myself on post #62.
    The blind may have led you into the desert. Sorry.
    Thanks for the assistance.
    Woody
    Last edited by Woodymon; 19 Mar 2007 at 09:49 AM.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    OK now that I've resolved displaying ez-pages in the dropdown menu, I've another related question. And forgive me if already answered or responded to.

    A. Before installing the header drop down menu ez-pages "extension" I had a "shop news" ez-pages sidebox displaying in left column. And I want to keep that.

    B. And I also had ez-pages displaying in the normal header.

    C. Then I added the ability to automatically show ez-pages in the new header dropdown menu.

    D. And then followed instructions:
    If you want to have the regular zen cart horizontal header bar off, go to "Configuration", "EZPages Settings", and turn the header bar display status to off (0).
    E. However now I observe that in order for an ez-page to auto display in the dropdown menu I have to be enable the ez-page to display in BOTH the ez-pages sidebox and ez-pages header. This seems strange.

    If I just set the ez-page to display in the header and not the sidebox the ez-page does not display in the dropdown. But I do not want ez-pages that I wish to display in the drop down menu to also display in the left column sidebox (unless I make that choice).

    I want ONLY the ez-pages I have marked ONLY to display in the header to display in the dropdown menu only.

    I understand I can manually add in ez-pages links to the drop down menu but that's not my point.

    I hope my long winded logic is clear here.

    Woody

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Tried out different ez-pages settings and I found a solution/workaround to my dilemma.

    The instructions stated:
    The sort orders also have to be greater than "0".
    So naturally I took this as an instruction to enable the ez-page with a HEADER sort order value >0. Which makes perfect sense.

    But what I discovered, and which was not clear to me, is you must ALSO set a SIDEBOX sort order value >0 even if you don't choose to display the ez-page in the sidebox (have it disabled for the sidebox)!

    This then allows the ez-page to display in the header dropdown (and not display in the sidebox).

    Thanks again for this excellent mod

    Woody

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Woodymon View Post

    But what I discovered, and which was not clear to me, is you must ALSO set a SIDEBOX sort order value >0 even if you don't choose to display the ez-page in the sidebox (have it disabled for the sidebox)!
    Woody
    Wait, now I'm confused. When I use this, I only have to have it enabled for the header to auto-show up in the header, as per my instructions. I have ezpages in my header and NONE of them are set to on for the sidebox. In the Layout Boxes Controller, do you have the left/right status for ezpages_drop_menu.php OFF and ONLY the single column status ON?

    ETA: AHA! I just checked, and I did have sort orders for the sideboxes, even though I had them OFF. Will have to check some of my php and see if I can fix that.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    West Mids, England
    Posts
    203
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hi

    I'm using your 'simple zen' template on 1.3.6 at the moment and saw this contribution and thought it looks great. I've tested it but all my top level categories show in the menu bar, not just a heading called categories.

    Am I doing something daft, or is there an admin setting?

    I attach an image to show you.

    Thanks

    Craig
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by CES View Post
    Hi

    I'm using your 'simple zen' template on 1.3.6 at the moment and saw this contribution and thought it looks great. I've tested it but all my top level categories show in the menu bar, not just a heading called categories.

    Am I doing something daft, or is there an admin setting?

    I attach an image to show you.

    Thanks

    Craig
    You have to be sure to paste the
    <?php require(DIR_WS_MODULES . 'sideboxes/' . $template_dir . '/' . 'ezpages_drop_menu.php'); ?>

    In the right spot. My guess is you pasted it outside of the information menu. Its got to go before the closing </ul> of the information menu.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    West Mids, England
    Posts
    203
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Not sure if we are at cross purposes here, I don't have a problem with ezpages, just the categories menu.

    When I hover over the categories menu, nothing shows as all the categories are listed in the bar.

    Thanks for your help.

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by CES View Post
    Not sure if we are at cross purposes here, I don't have a problem with ezpages, just the categories menu.

    When I hover over the categories menu, nothing shows as all the categories are listed in the bar.

    Thanks for your help.
    I'd really need to see a link.

 

 
Page 8 of 235 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Categories dropdown menu/css
    By KenshiroU in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Apr 2013, 01:04 PM
  2. HIde categories mod with css dropdown menu
    By adowty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2012, 01:05 AM
  3. How to use ezpages/categories as dropdown menu in the header?
    By mdivk in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2011, 06:32 PM
  4. whats wrong with this css for my dropdown menu?
    By 1kell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28 May 2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Header Dropdown Menu (CSS) Without the Dropdown???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 May 2009, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR