Page 17 of 235 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767117 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 2345
  1. #161
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Derby UK
    Posts
    99
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Me Again!

    I would like to add a manufacturers list to the drop down menu such that each manufacturers products could be listed in a similar manner to the categories drop down.

    I could add the new category in the HTML:
    Code:
    <li class="submenu">MAMUFACTURERS</a>
      <ul class="level2">
        <li><a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=2">This Manufacturer</a></li>
        <ul class="level3">
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 1</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 2</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 3</a></li>
          </ul>
        <li class="submenu"><a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=3">That Manufacturer</a> 
          <ul class="level3">
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 1</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 2</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 3</a></li>
          </ul>
        </li>
      </ul>
    </li>
    But longer term that would be difficult to maintain. I had hoped to be able to assign products to manufacturers in some way rather than input each one individually, and the whole menu be built dynamically.

    So, what is the best "Zen like " way to do this?

    Many thanks!
    Last edited by Still Crazy; 20 Apr 2007 at 06:33 PM. Reason: smelling mistake
    Crazy



  2. #162
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Still Crazy View Post
    Me Again!

    I would like to add a manufacturers list to the drop down menu such that each manufacturers products could be listed in a similar manner to the categories drop down.

    I could add the new category in the HTML:
    Code:
    <li class="submenu">MAMUFACTURERS</a>
      <ul class="level2">
        <li><a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=2">This Manufacturer</a></li>
        <ul class="level3">
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 1</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 2</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 3</a></li>
          </ul>
        <li class="submenu"><a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=3">That Manufacturer</a> 
          <ul class="level3">
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 1</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 2</a></li>
            <li class="submenu"> <a href="index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=4">Product 3</a></li>
          </ul>
        </li>
      </ul>
    </li>
    But longer term that would be difficult to maintain. I had hoped to be able to assign products to manufacturers in some way rather than input each one individually, and the whole menu be built dynamically.

    So, what is the best "Zen like " way to do this?

    Many thanks!
    Hi!

    Sorry, I don't have a simple answer for this, and don't have a simple solution. If I were planning to design this, I'd perhaps start by looking at includes/classes/categories_ul_generator.php and includes/modules/sideboxes/maufacturers.php. However, I don't have the time to develop this mod, and I feel it would probably be fairly complicated. So for now, manual is the way to go....

  3. #163
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Derby UK
    Posts
    99
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hi Jade, thanks for your quick response.

    Your answer is not what I wanted, but was what I expected if you see what I mean!

    I have already spent some time experimenting with the categories_ul_generator.php file, so will continue to do this now I know that I am working in the right area.

    In the short term I will probably hard code the links - I think it will be worth the effort as I believe there could be some SEO advantages if used correctly ;)

    Thanks again.
    Crazy



  4. #164
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Still Crazy View Post
    Hi Jade, thanks for your quick response.

    Your answer is not what I wanted, but was what I expected if you see what I mean!

    I have already spent some time experimenting with the categories_ul_generator.php file, so will continue to do this now I know that I am working in the right area.

    In the short term I will probably hard code the links - I think it will be worth the effort as I believe there could be some SEO advantages if used correctly ;)

    Thanks again.
    I would create a new file, perhaps called manufacturers_ul_generator.php and wouldn't try to get the manufacturers to mix in with the categories code. GOOD LUCK!

  5. #165
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hi Jettrue
    Would you please help me how to create a submenu like EZPages One under INFORMATION of your dropdown menu in http://www.zencart137.jadetrue.com and how to create this page and the link to it?

    Very appreciate your help

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    This add-on will allow you to have a horizontal css based flyout menu for your zen cart header. It also display your categories dynamically, along with other useful links for your customers. information. This mod was built upon a previous version built for earlier versions of zen cart.

    You can see this mod in action at http://www.zencart137.jadetrue.com

    It is also integrated into the Apple Zen template found here:
    http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=449

    This will be submitted to the download section shortly.

  6. #166
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by lnguyen50atgmail View Post
    Hi Jettrue
    Would you please help me how to create a submenu like EZPages One under INFORMATION of your dropdown menu in http://www.zencart137.jadetrue.com and how to create this page and the link to it?

    Very appreciate your help
    Hi There!

    Are you using my CSS header from the downloads section? Because it is designed to dynamically show EZPages after they are added in the admin.

  7. #167
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hi Jettrue
    Yes, i used your CSS header from the download section, I already did figure it out this part but I had problem if I like to add another EZPage at HOME menu since this EZPage only shows in one place under INFORMATION, please show me how to do it.
    Thank you very much

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    Hi There!

    Are you using my CSS header from the downloads section? Because it is designed to dynamically show EZPages after they are added in the admin.

  8. #168
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by lnguyen50atgmail View Post
    Hi Jettrue
    Yes, i used your CSS header from the download section, I already did figure it out this part but I had problem if I like to add another EZPage at HOME menu since this EZPage only shows in one place under INFORMATION, please show me how to do it.
    Thank you very much
    Just add the link to includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/common/tpl_drop_menu.php.

    Find the link you want it to be below, and just paste the code for the link there.

    If you look through this thread, I've posted how to do something like this a few times. Here's one of them:
    http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showpo...&postcount=154

  9. #169
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    241
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    I've just gone through this lengthy thread and am surprised no one has mentioned the way the menu scrolls downwards but without the background color so the scrolled menu item is hard to see.

    I've seen this in all the examples posted, including Jade's.

    If you make the browser window smaller, or increase the font size, the menu will scroll in an (I think) undesirable way.

    I would prefer to have the individual menu items scroll, so that "Check Out" (for example) would be on two lines, while maintaining the relative overall width of the menu.

    I've checked the css file and fiddled with a few things but I can't see what's controlling the height of the menu and why it won't allow scrolling.

    Even if it scrolled, but with the same background colour, that would be a bit better.

    BTW - very nice menu otherwise

  10. #170
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by paul3648 View Post
    I've just gone through this lengthy thread and am surprised no one has mentioned the way the menu scrolls downwards but without the background color so the scrolled menu item is hard to see.

    I've seen this in all the examples posted, including Jade's.

    If you make the browser window smaller, or increase the font size, the menu will scroll in an (I think) undesirable way.

    I would prefer to have the individual menu items scroll, so that "Check Out" (for example) would be on two lines, while maintaining the relative overall width of the menu.

    I've checked the css file and fiddled with a few things but I can't see what's controlling the height of the menu and why it won't allow scrolling.

    Even if it scrolled, but with the same background colour, that would be a bit better.

    BTW - very nice menu otherwise
    I cannot see this issue. I've tried to replicate what you're experiencing in Firefox and IE7, and do not see any issue. Though I'm not really understanding exactly what you are talking about.

    What browser are you seeing this issue, and can I see your website? What do you mean by saying they "scroll"?

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Categories dropdown menu/css
    By KenshiroU in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Apr 2013, 01:04 PM
  2. HIde categories mod with css dropdown menu
    By adowty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2012, 01:05 AM
  3. How to use ezpages/categories as dropdown menu in the header?
    By mdivk in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2011, 06:32 PM
  4. whats wrong with this css for my dropdown menu?
    By 1kell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28 May 2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Header Dropdown Menu (CSS) Without the Dropdown???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 May 2009, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR