Page 41 of 124 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191 ... LastLast
Results 401 to 410 of 1238
  1. #401
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky - USA
    Posts
    428
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    I hate to ask these questions, with all that is going on, but I must so I can move slowley forward.

    Questions regarding install of Admin Profiles V1.0.5
    Reading your install notes, Step 1. you stipulate “If you are using a database prefix for your Zen Cart tables, you must either: run the install_adminlevels.sql file using Zen Cart's Admin > Tools > Install SQL Patch facility or edit the file to change the prefix for all create table and insert statements, before running it using your preferred tool.” Now for the first really, really dumb question: How do I tell if I have a database prefix for my ZC tables? I think I do, (I believe that the prefix is sawhorse_zc1 for the 1st database and sawhorse_zc2 for the 2nd (I assume backup) database), but since I do not know how the tables are to look “in their natural state” I am not sure. See below:

    Example of tables for ZC1:
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_address_book OK
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_address_format OK
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_admin OK
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_admin_activity_log OK
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_authorizenet OK
    sawhorse_zc1.zen_banners OK

    Example of tables for ZC2:
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_address_book OK
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_address_format OK
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_admin OK
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_admin_activity_log OK
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_authorizenet OK
    sawhorse_zc2.zen_banners OK

    phpMyAdmin - 2.11.0, MySQL client version: 4.1.21, Used PHP extensions: mysql

    Really, really dumb question 2: Step 1. also states “If you are not using a database, simply run the install_admin_profiles.sql file using your preferred tool for executing SQL (e.g. phpMyAdmin).” How can you run ZC without a database?

    Really, really dumb question 3: What does this copy do? admin\includes\boxes\* Does this have anything to do with editing the box files to accommodate third party contributions? Does this copy really do anything? (I am sure it does, that is why I am calling this really, really dumb question 3).

    1st Not so dumb question (asking just to make sure). I am running ZC 1.3.8a so I will need to manually patch admin\admin.php & admin/includes/languages/english.php. True?

    2nd not so dumb question (just to be sure). I am assuming that ZC 1.3.8a did not add any additional admin pages not found in ZC 1.3.6. And, I have yet to add any additional pages so I thus, do not need to worry about manually editing the relevant box files using your step guide. True?

    Thanks

  2. #402
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,569
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    @Sawhorse

    sawhorse_zc1 and sawhorse_zc2 are database names. Your database prefix is zen_

    Question two relates to a typo. It should read database prefix.

    admin\includes\boxes\* refers to all files in that folder. They replace the default Zen Cart box files, for built-in functions rather than 3rd party additions. So yes it does do something.

    You will need to patch the english.php file, but can use the admin.php from the extras folder.

    Finally, I am not aware of any new admin options in 1.3.8 BUT it does correct some errors in the box files, which are not corrected in the version of Admin Profiles that you are using. But they're pretty minor and we've survived up until now without the fixes, so I wouldn't worry too much about this.
    Kuroi Web Design and Development | Twitter

    (Questions answered in the forum only - so that any forum member can benefit - not by personal message)

  3. #403
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky - USA
    Posts
    428
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    Thank you,
    So, I do have a prefix (zen_) so I should use ZC Install SQL Patch facility.

    I thought that that could be what was happening with admin\includes\boxes\* but I thought that you needed to have the following admin\includes\boxes\*.* to refer to all files in that folder. I was confused. I knew they did something ;-)

    Given that we have minor fixes in the admin profiles in 1.3.8, if I had the time would it be at all useful to use WinMerge to make these minor changes or as you say "wouldn't worry too much about this".

    Thanks again.

  4. #404
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky - USA
    Posts
    428
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    I believe we have done it!!! Thanks

  5. #405
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    213
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Sawhorse View Post
    Thank you,


    Given that we have minor fixes in the admin profiles in 1.3.8, if I had the time would it be at all useful to use WinMerge to make these minor changes or as you say "wouldn't worry too much about this".

    Thanks again.
    I am running an upgraded 1.38a shop, I just installed Admin Profiles 1.03 and I used WinMerge to modify ALL of the regular box files. For the new ones I had to create/replace, the trickiest new one was the linkpoint file for PayPal. There is a conditional clause before the BOX...FILENAME line which needs to be copied over. Otherwise it was a breeze and WinMerge made the .bak files automatically.
    Two other points in the instructions:
    1. In the "Code Patch" instructions for v1.02 it says:
    In admin\admin.php find the 2nd line containing the constant IMAGE_DELETE (line 427 in a clean install of ZC 1.3 with the above patch installed). Insert a new line immediately afterwards containing the following ...
    <br /><a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_ADMIN_CONTROL, 'adminID=' . $adminInfo->admin_id) . '">' . zen_image_button('button_edit_permissions.gif', IMAGE_PERMISSIONS) . '</a>
    This code actually needs to be inserted WITHIN the line as shown:
    $contents[] = array('align' => 'center',
    'text' => '<a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_ADMIN, 'page=' . $_GET['page'] . '&adminID=' . $adminInfo->admin_id . '&action=edit') . '">' . zen_image_button('button_edit.gif', IMAGE_EDIT) . '</a><a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_ADMIN, 'page=' . $_GET['page'] . '&adminID=' . $adminInfo->admin_id . '&action=resetpassword') . '">' . zen_image_button('button_reset_pwd.gif', IMAGE_RESET) . '</a><a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_ADMIN, 'page=' . $_GET['page'] . '&adminID=' . $adminInfo->admin_id . '&action=delete') . '">' . zen_image_button('button_delete.gif', IMAGE_DELETE) . '</a> <br /><a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_ADMIN_CONTROL, 'adminID=' . $adminInfo->admin_id) . '">' . zen_image_button('button_edit_permissions.gif', IMAGE_PERMISSIONS) . '</a>'); }
    I also found that the line numbers you quoted for locations were significantly different, but the search function in Notepad++ found the spots easily.

    2. In the upgrade to 1.0.3.txt file it says for step 2 that you have to overwrite 4 files in admin. But those files were just freshly installed and there are no new files provided. Is there any reason to have to install them AGAIN?

    Great MOD...Worked perfectly after install and oes exactly what I needed to limit people's access to dangerous parts of the admin panel when all they need to do is generate reports and maybe update prices.

  6. #406
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    213
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    Kuroi,
    I just ran into a minor but annoying problem. I discovered that my Customers menu in the Admin panel has DOUBLE entries. i.e. the dropdown reads:
    "Customers", "Orders","Group Pricing", "PayPal IPN", "Customers", "Orders","Group Pricing", "PayPal IPN", As if the submenus are being generated twice. But I can't figure out what's calling it to do that. And it's only happening in the CUSTOMERS menu, but I can't see anything wrong in customers_dhtml.php in the boxes directory. I even put all the .bak versions in a separate folder.
    Any ideas?

  7. #407
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,569
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    I'm glad you like it but ...
    Quote Originally Posted by mauryg View Post
    I am running an upgraded 1.38a shop, I just installed Admin Profiles 1.03
    why are you using this version? 1.0.3 was superceded months ago by 1.0.5, an upgrade specifically to take account of significant changes to 1.3.5 and since by 1.0.6 to maintain compatibility with 1.3.6 and happily 1.3.7 and 1.3.8 as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by mauryg View Post
    I also found that the line numbers you quoted for locations were significantly different
    The install instructions for the version intended for your release of Zen Cart are rather more accurate.

    Quote Originally Posted by mauryg View Post
    my Customers menu in the Admin panel has DOUBLE entries. i.e. the dropdown reads:
    "Customers", "Orders","Group Pricing", "PayPal IPN", "Customers", "Orders","Group Pricing", "PayPal IPN", As if the submenus are being generated twice. But I can't figure out what's calling it to do that. And it's only happening in the CUSTOMERS menu, but I can't see anything wrong in customers_dhtml.php in the boxes directory.
    Not an Admin Profiles issue I'm afraid. AP doesn't build the menus, that's part of core Zen Cart. AP just adds an extra condition to suppress the inclusion of a menu entry if a user is blocked from using them. It can't add additional ones. This can only be done in the box files or extra_boxfiles. If your customers_dhtml.php file looks OK, I'd double chec the other box files in that same directory, then widen the search to the extra_boxfiles folder and keep widening until you find the duplicate entries - they're there somewhere!

    Quote Originally Posted by mauryg View Post
    I even put all the .bak versions in a separate folder.
    I would strongly recommend against letting backup files anywhere near your production system, even in a separate folder, unless you are happy for them to be executed. I've seen a lot of people cause themselves odd and difficult to track down problems by doing this.
    Kuroi Web Design and Development | Twitter

    (Questions answered in the forum only - so that any forum member can benefit - not by personal message)

  8. #408
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    213
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Support Thread

    Kuroi,
    Thanks for the prompt reply. All I can say is
    I had downloaded Admin Profiles from ZenCart a while ago and didn't check for a newer version. Will get the new one and reinstall it. Maybe that will clear up the duplicate problem as well.

    Maury

  9. #409
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    213
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Profiles Problems

    Kuroi,

    When I completely uninstalled all of the v1.0.3 mod files and patches from my shop and removed the tables from the database, operation of the Admin panel returned to normal with no duplication of submenus on the Admin>Customers dropdown. I downloaded version 1.0.6 of the Admin Profiles mod from the ZenCart download site and installed it.

    When I modified the existing box files in the boxes folder, I compared them to those provided with the mod using WinMerge. Remember I am running version 1.38a. The only difference between the original files and the mod files which I did NOT mod was a line near the end of most of the original files (e.g. line 37 in customers_dhtml.php) and not in the mod files, which reads $za_dir->close();. This was an addition between v1.37 and v1.38a. Was it appropriate to leave it there?

    BTW also noted in the original and mod configurations_dhtml.php file the statement: "if (1 == 1) {". When would this NOT be true? Am I misreading something or is it simply my miniscule knowledge of php?

    When I logged into the admin panel as user#1, I noted that:
    1. There were no duplicate dropdown entries in "Customers", as in my previous install v1.0.3. So far so good.
    2. There were no entries for the extra mods I listed above.
    3. There was no "Contributions" menu which I expected.

    After a little thinking and rereading the instructions I realized that
    1. There is no "Contributions" menu in the Admin Panel, only in the Admin Settings>Set Permissions page.
    2. I needed to check the boxes for the extra mods, even for user#1, in order for the extra mods to appear in their normal menus.
    It might be helpful if these two points could be made clearer in the instructions
    Thanks for a great mod.

  10. #410
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    213
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding new Contrubtions to Admin Profiles

    I just added Super Orders 2.0 to my cart. I modified the "extra_boxes" files as required. I noted that, even for user #1, some of the modules appeared in the Contributions section under Permissions immediately and checked them in order to see them while others DID NOT APPEAR until I invoked them the first time (e.g. invoice or packing slip) at which point I got an "Access Denied" error message. Then I had to go back to Admin Settings and give myself permission.
    Is this normal behaviour for Admin Profiles??

 

 
Page 41 of 124 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Admin New Order [Support Thread]
    By lhungil in forum Addon Admin Tools
    Replies: 121
    Last Post: 5 Feb 2021, 07:51 PM
  2. v150 CSS Buttons for Admin [Support Thread]
    By lat9 in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 24 Dec 2015, 09:13 PM
  3. Admin-Editable Sidebox - Support Thread
    By kuroi in forum Addon Sideboxes
    Replies: 331
    Last Post: 29 Oct 2014, 04:15 AM
  4. v151 Blue Admin [Support Thread]
    By vvomble in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 27 May 2013, 09:43 PM
  5. [Support Thread] IE only JavaScripts and Stylesheets Addon
    By Meshach in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 31 May 2011, 08:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR