Page 54 of 217 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664104154 ... LastLast
Results 531 to 540 of 2161
  1. #531
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    First, run this query

    Code:
    SELECT configuration_group_id
    FROM configuration_group
    WHERE configuration_group_title= 'Google Analytics Configuration';
    If no row is returned, just delete the two "DELETE" lines from the beginning of googleanalytics.sql:

    Code:
    DELETE FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    DELETE FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    Otherwise, if it does return a number, you'll then need to run the following queries to see what may be deleted. Replace <number> with what was returned above

    Code:
    SELECT * FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = <number>;
    SELECT * FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = <number>;
    If any rows are returned by those two queries, you'll need to back up those lines before running the googleanalytics.sql script.

  2. #532
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,400
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Google Analytics - Reporting Issue

    Hello,

    It appears that if someone purchases 2 items that have the same SKU and model number but different attributes then google is ignoring the second one and only reporting one instead of two. Would it be very easy to add attributes to the checkout_success product information?

    Thank you!

    Shrimp Gumbo
    Last edited by shrimp-gumbo-mmmhhh; 20 Jan 2008 at 05:00 AM. Reason: fix wording

  3. #533
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,400
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Google Analytics - Reporting Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by shrimp-gumbo-mmmhhh View Post
    Hello,

    It appears that if someone purchases 2 items that have the same SKU and model number but different attributes then google is ignoring the second one and only reporting one instead of two. Would it be very easy to add attributes to the checkout_success product information?

    Thank you!

    Shrimp Gumbo

    Also, Google Checkout was sending information back on checkouts but appears not to be now... any ideas?

  4. #534
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by mrblaq View Post
    I'm running 1.3.8a and I had to. I noted that in the GoogleAnalytics.sql file, these commands right at the beginning deleted a bunch of stuff:

    Code:
    SET @t4=0;
    SELECT (@t4:=configuration_group_id) as t4 
    FROM configuration_group
    WHERE configuration_group_title= 'Google Analytics Configuration';
    DELETE FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    DELETE FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    First of all, the default install of zen-cart on my system never had a configuration_group_title of 'Google Analytics Configuration' Thus t4 remained set to 0 and then anything in my DB that was configuration_group_id == 0 was deleted.

    This in turn deletes the following configuration keys from my configuration table:
    PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT
    UPLOAD_PREFIX
    TEXT_PREFIX

    And that's just not right.

    I now don't know why the following table row is needed. I just used it on recommendation of Ajeh in this thread. It wasn't deleted by the analyytics install.

    Code:
    INSERT INTO `configuration` VALUES ('', 'Image Handler Version', 'IH_VERSION', '2.0', 'This is used by image handler to check if the database is up to date with uploaded image handler files.', 0, 100, NULL, '2007-06-06 16:47:03', NULL, 'zen_cfg_textarea_small(');
    I'm 97% certain that none of the modifications or additions I've made to the base zen-cart package have caused this error for me. I'm writing this so you will be able to know how to fix your zen-cart IF this problem arises.

    So, in conclusion, you CAN install google analytics just fine. BUT, it will probably mess up your products attributes AND you can fix it by running the query I mentioned earlier.

    Thanks,
    Dave
    Here is an important fix that you can use to remedy the situation before you install it. I have been looking into this myself, and came up with the following fix.

    In the beginning of your SQL file, alter the lines that look like this:

    SET @t4=0;
    SELECT (@t4:=configuration_group_id) as t4
    FROM configuration_group
    WHERE configuration_group_title= 'Google Analytics Configuration';
    DELETE FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    DELETE FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4;
    To read as follows.

    SET @t4=0;
    SELECT (@t4:=configuration_group_id) as t4
    FROM configuration_group
    WHERE configuration_group_title= 'Google Analytics Configuration';
    DELETE FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4 AND configuration_group_id != 0;
    DELETE FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4 AND configuration_group_id != 0;
    This in effect says "delete the entry for Google Analytics if it is there, otherwise do not delete anything. I applied this to a release (patch) here today and re-uploaded to the zen-cart site.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  5. #535
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by keylesslocks View Post
    will this work for 1.3.8, we have it on our 1.3.7 and it works fine.... thanks
    Should work on 1.3.8 just fine.
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  6. #536
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,509
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Google Analytics - Reporting Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by shrimp-gumbo-mmmhhh View Post
    Hello,

    It appears that if someone purchases 2 items that have the same SKU and model number but different attributes then google is ignoring the second one and only reporting one instead of two. Would it be very easy to add attributes to the checkout_success product information?

    Thank you!

    Shrimp Gumbo
    Google is not actually "ignoring" it as such. The way Google reports data is all in how you tell it to. If a product is identical in nature to another (as far as SKU, model, etc...) then Google sees that as one individual product (because it is) no matter if it has different attributes.

    You can't just add "attributes" to the code without Google allowing it (and accepting it). That won't work.

    The code currently in place is taken directly from the Google Analytics instructions.

    You can tell Google HOW you want to report data to it (and how they should report on it) by choosing the proper selection from the admin configuration value that reads "Use sku/code".

    Currently, Google only allows you to report based on either Product ID, or Product Model. If either of these are identical to another product being purchased (no matter if the attributes are different), then Google groups them into "1" product transaction.

    So that is what you are seeing happen on your end. Google is not actually deleting the additional product (or ignoring it) they are simply "grouping" it based on the indicator you have told them to through the configuration value mentioned above.

    they say some new things are going to be able to be done with the new "ga.js" version of tracking code, but have not released exactly what that will be yet. Maybe they will allow separation based on "attributes" as well. Who knows.

    In the meantime, if you want to separate products with different attributes within Google, you would have to give each product a different Product ID or Model # (depending on the method in which you tell Google to report the data back to you).

    Hope that helps in understanding what is going on.

    As far as thee Google Checkout sending information back at one time, but not appearing to do so now, that seems to be something that is being affected by another issue and not the analytics itself. The module does not affect how data is moved between checkout and site, it only passes the completed data to Google for reporting as they instruct.
    Last edited by econcepts; 21 Jan 2008 at 01:28 PM. Reason: spelling
    Eric
    20 Ways to Increase Sales Using Zen Cart
    Zen Cart contribs: Simple Google Analytics, Export Shipping Information

  7. #537
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,400
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Google Analytics - Reporting Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by econcepts View Post
    Google is not actually "ignoring" it as such. The way Google reports data is all in how you tell it to. If a product is identical in nature to another (as far as SKU, model, etc...) then Google sees that as one individual product (because it is) no matter if it has different attributes.

    You can't just add "attributes" to the code without Google allowing it (and accepting it). That won't work.

    The code currently in place is taken directly from the Google Analytics instructions.

    You can tell Google HOW you want to report data to it (and how they should report on it) by choosing the proper selection from the admin configuration value that reads "Use sku/code".

    Currently, Google only allows you to report based on either Product ID, or Product Model. If either of these are identical to another product being purchased (no matter if the attributes are different), then Google groups them into "1" product transaction.

    So that is what you are seeing happen on your end. Google is not actually deleting the additional product (or ignoring it) they are simply "grouping" it based on the indicator you have told them to through the configuration value mentioned above.

    they say some new things are going to be able to be done with the new "ga.js" version of tracking code, but have not released exactly what that will be yet. Maybe they will allow separation based on "attributes" as well. Who knows.

    In the meantime, if you want to separate products with different attributes within Google, you would have to give each product a different Product ID or Model # (depending on the method in which you tell Google to report the data back to you).

    Hope that helps in understanding what is going on.

    As far as thee Google Checkout sending information back at one time, but not appearing to do so now, that seems to be something that is being affected by another issue and not the analytics itself. The module does not affect how data is moved between checkout and site, it only passes the completed data to Google for reporting as they instruct.
    Thanks Econcepts,

    Analytics didn't seem to group both items... they just showed one of one item sold... if it grouped that would have been okay. Actually what I am asking is ... "Is there an easy way to add the attribute to the model name and would that work to have the same sku with two product names.... like item #15541 LEXUS-RED and item #15541 LEXUS-WHITE

    Thanks!

    Shrimp-Gumbo

  8. #538
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    26
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    I just upgraded version 1.1 of the Simple Google Analytics mod to version 2. I did it by the book with no errors and it appears the code is in the pages on www.rv-accessory-store.com but Google Analytics doesn't acknowledge it.

    Can anyone give me some ideas? I'm perplexed.

    Thanks,
    Mark

  9. #539
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,400
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    Quote Originally Posted by internetoutfitter View Post
    I just upgraded version 1.1 of the Simple Google Analytics mod to version 2. I did it by the book with no errors and it appears the code is in the pages on www.rv-accessory-store.com but Google Analytics doesn't acknowledge it.

    Can anyone give me some ideas? I'm perplexed.

    Thanks,
    Mark
    Change "UA-3294791" to "UA-329479-1"

    I think your account number is wrong.

    Shrimp-Gumbo

  10. #540
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,400
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Simple Google Analytics - Support

    I think it would be good to have the tracking in the popup_shipping_estimator.html page.... any ideas of how to do this?

    Shrimp

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Simple Google Analytics .sql error !
    By Miff in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 Feb 2012, 11:33 PM
  2. Simple Google Analytics-not working
    By RobertG in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11 Nov 2010, 06:07 PM
  3. Simple (From Google) Analytics Install
    By DagLindt in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 May 2009, 10:46 PM
  4. Simple google analytics- help
    By Pet Herbal Remedies in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1 Oct 2008, 10:37 PM
  5. Simple Google Analytics not working
    By jvanree in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29 May 2008, 03:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR