Page 17 of 24 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 235
  1. #161
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    1,076
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Quote Originally Posted by welchyboy View Post
    Any suggestions on how to make it better or quicker? I have only tested the file with about 1280 by 768 and lower resolution.
    OK... first, there are only three resolutions in flash, High, Medium, and Low. The default is High if not set through the param command. The size is what I think your referring to, basically is the size of your stage. Depending on what your using as a image depends on how good it looks. On my banner, it's only 26kb and is pack with animation. It could have been 8kb, but I used a jpg for the scrolling background graphic. A good book if you have time is Flash Hacks by Sham Bhangal put out by O'Reilly. Good tips on using scripting to reduce file size and incressing animation. The more image you can create in flash and less outside formated images, like jpg's, the smaller the file size. Also, raster graphics, which is what your creating, has very little if any distortion when changing size in flash.
    Dave
    Always forward thinking... Lost my mind!

  2. #162
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    283
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Yeah I will check out that book and I do understand by adding these images it making my flash file huge. I did create these in photoshop but not sure if i want to lower the quality. I am sure I can change it to like a gif or another format to lower the size i just don't want to mess it up too much now because I am pretty much happy with how it looks now. Thanks for all your help and I will see what i can do. Thanks again

  3. #163
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    122
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Well confused on how to get this working.

    Trying to put a flash file in a banner on the header.

    This is what I started with that did not work. This is is in the html part of the banner page.

    <object classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub...ersion=8,0,0,0" width="728" height="90">
    <param name="movie" value="http://www.lozer.co.uk/shop/images/b...eaderboard.swf" />
    <param name="quality" value="high" />
    <embed src="http://www.lozer.co.uk/shop/images/b...eaderboard.swf"
    quality="high"
    type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
    width="728"
    height="90"
    pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
    </object>

    Have installed flash sidebox.

    What do I need to put in the html section to get this working please.

    Regards
    Laurie

  4. #164
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    1,076
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Quote Originally Posted by chalfontgifts View Post
    Well confused on how to get this working.
    The flash banner is there, increasing the height in your CSS for logoWrapper should give it more space. Looking with firefox 3.
    Dave
    Always forward thinking... Lost my mind!

  5. #165
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    122
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Hi Dave

    It is there in firefox, but not in IE. That is why I wanted to implenent this contribution, but can't get a drift of what I have to put in the html section of the banner setup to get it to display.

    The banner was 728x90 in size. When I adapt the sample code it still shows small.

    Can you give me some clues as to what I have to put in here and what each bit does.

    I deally I want to display the banner and when I click on it it takes me to a particular page on my site.

    Regards
    Laurie

  6. #166
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    1,076
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Quote Originally Posted by chalfontgifts View Post
    Hi Dave

    It is there in firefox, but not in IE. That is why I wanted to implenent this contribution, but can't get a drift of what I have to put in the html section of the banner setup to get it to display.

    The banner was 728x90 in size. When I adapt the sample code it still shows small.

    Can you give me some clues as to what I have to put in here and what each bit does.

    I deally I want to display the banner and when I click on it it takes me to a particular page on my site.

    Regards
    Laurie
    If your using IE7, then IE should ask to display it. If IE6 and below, you need a plugin to view flash or shockwave objects. http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/downl...ShockwaveFlash

    I use swfObject for a walk around for IE7 asking permission.
    Dave
    Always forward thinking... Lost my mind!

  7. #167
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    283
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    OK I am sorry I guess I am a little slow but this is where I am at on my flash header. I have it set to 110px as my height in the logowrapper.

    my code for the flash file is here.

    Code:
    
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en">
    	<head>
    		<title></title>
    		<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
    		<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/templates/arch_shoppe/jscript/swfobject.js"></script>
    		<script type="text/javascript">
    			var flashvars = {};
    			var params = {};
    			params.play = "true";
    			var attributes = {};
    			attributes.align = "middle";
    			swfobject.embedSWF("stxbanner.swf", "stxbanner", "100%", "100%", "9", "expressInstall.swf", flashvars, params, attributes);
    		</script>
    	</head>
    	<body>
    		<div id="stxbanner">
    		  
    			<a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer">
    				<img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" />
    			</a>
    		</div>
    	
    
    	
    	
    </body>
    </html>
    The width of the banner is the only problem from what i see across different resolutions. The height is set to 110px and that is working out great. But since it is set to that now i guess to keep porportions or something it set the width to something smaller. Can anyone figure this one out.

  8. #168
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,821
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Width of template should be same width as flash swf..
    currently it is not...hence spaces at left/right side.

  9. #169
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky - USA
    Posts
    428
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    I believe that both Davewest & Misty have given you the reason why your swf does not fit your flash stage (the reason why you are getting black or what ever you have set as your stage background). Let me try to be specific
    1) If your swf is say 1280px x 768px you have a 5 to 3 image ratio.
    2) If you make your flash stage only 110px high and your swf has a 5 to 3 image ratio the image you will see on your banner will only be 183px wide.
    3) The reason why it will only be 183px wide is that your swf must display in the same ratio as the original swf (5 x3).
    4) If you want to display a banner that is wider than 183px and you keep your display width at 110px you must make your original swf wider but not higher.
    5) For example if you want to display a banner that is 730px by 110px (approx. 20 by 3 ratio) you must make your original a 20 by 3 ratio
    6) Thus your original 1280px x 768px (a 5:3) should be 5120px by 768px (20:3) to fit on the flash stage correctly.
    7) You do not have to have an exact 5120 x 768 swf original image as long as you have the correct proportion. You could do a 2560ps x 384px swf or anything else that keeps the same ratio.

    I hope I am being helpful. Both Davewest & Misty have a better grasp of this than I. All I am trying to do is be a bit more concrete.

  10. #170
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    283
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with Flash Header

    Quote Originally Posted by Sawhorse View Post
    I believe that both Davewest & Misty have given you the reason why your swf does not fit your flash stage (the reason why you are getting black or what ever you have set as your stage background). Let me try to be specific
    1) If your swf is say 1280px x 768px you have a 5 to 3 image ratio.
    2) If you make your flash stage only 110px high and your swf has a 5 to 3 image ratio the image you will see on your banner will only be 183px wide.
    3) The reason why it will only be 183px wide is that your swf must display in the same ratio as the original swf (5 x3).
    4) If you want to display a banner that is wider than 183px and you keep your display width at 110px you must make your original swf wider but not higher.
    5) For example if you want to display a banner that is 730px by 110px (approx. 20 by 3 ratio) you must make your original a 20 by 3 ratio
    6) Thus your original 1280px x 768px (a 5:3) should be 5120px by 768px (20:3) to fit on the flash stage correctly.
    7) You do not have to have an exact 5120 x 768 swf original image as long as you have the correct proportion. You could do a 2560ps x 384px swf or anything else that keeps the same ratio.

    I hope I am being helpful. Both Davewest & Misty have a better grasp of this than I. All I am trying to do is be a bit more concrete.
    Wow You and misty rock lol that is all I have to say. I haven't tried anything yet but I will do this. Let me just make sure I am understanding. So if i am wanting to keep the same height as it is right now...not by changing my flash file I like the size of it right now...all i would need to do is make the width larger in the actual flash file? What kind of size am i looking at to work with like a 1600 wide resolution. I want to make sure it is viewable for the larger resolutions as well. Thanks again for the very in depth information. I will try this and see what kind of luck i have.

 

 
Page 17 of 24 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Problem with flash header size
    By GodfatherAntiques in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 21 Mar 2012, 10:12 AM
  2. Problem with flash on main page (not header)
    By sartor in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14 Jan 2009, 10:59 AM
  3. Once again problem with Flash header
    By craigpowell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22 Sep 2008, 01:42 AM
  4. Problem with Flash Header pt2
    By hondauser85 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Jun 2007, 04:03 PM
  5. help with flash header
    By wizzard in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Jun 2007, 05:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR