Page 18 of 28 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 272
  1. #171
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    474
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Quote Originally Posted by idtags View Post
    Can somebody explain how technicaly to"open the table "products" in your zencart-database"?

    Where "table products" is located and what editor have to be used?

    Thanks
    idtags,
    You do this in your database tables. Probably in your hosting account via MySQL controls.

    If you have no idea what any of that means you should probably contact your web host for assistance. I would hate to provide instructions because when dealing directly with the table you can really fudge things up.

    -lindasdd

  2. #172
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    474
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Anyone think they can make this work so different product details appear on the product listing page(in columns) based on category?

    -lindasdd

  3. #173
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Quote Originally Posted by yisou View Post
    Code:
    <td class="main"><?php echo zen_draw_separator('pixel_trans.gif', '24', '15') . '&nbsp;' . zen_draw_input_field('products_guarantee', $pInfo->products_guarantee, zen_set_field_length(TABLE_PRODUCTS, 'products_guarantee')); ?></td>
    I need multi lines, how to do?
    No I ended up taking the turning that tab off and just using css -

  4. #174
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Quote Originally Posted by smoke133 View Post
    Did you ever get this to work. I'm trying to do the same thing.
    sorry it quoted the wrong thing! No I turned the details tabs off and used CSS

  5. #175
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Quote Originally Posted by lindasdd View Post
    Anyone think they can make this work so different product details appear on the product listing page(in columns) based on category?

    -lindasdd
    Quote Originally Posted by lindasdd View Post
    Bikeforce,
    I'm pretty certain your question should really be directed at the author of the tabbed mod since this is something funky with how that mod works.

    I use the tabbed mod as well and just gave up on trying to get the details in a tab.

    -lindasdd
    Quite chirpy on this thread arent you Linda! Yes but the question related to this thread also as the newly created custom fields werent showing up in the details tabbs when the originals were - never mind I just settled with taking them out of the tabs.

    With your second question I remember dabbling around with the product_listing.php in the modules folder of your template I added some custom fields to be displayed (displaying text related to stock quantity) but I think you want the next step and create a whole column - I think you just need to mimic the code that is there not entirely certian and i havent had time to test it but think you would need to add a new case statement:

    case 'PRODUCT_LIST_PRICE':
    $lc_text = TABLE_HEADING_PRICE;

    like that and go through copying the format in a similar way to the beggining of this threads method - so do control f for price and work out whats happening for that column etc......some of the code is a bit funky so good luck - that's all I can tell you!

  6. #176
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    I have managed to add new peoprties to my products using the ideas in this thread ... thank you all sooooo much! And the field now appears in the product info page.

    Now, I would like to take this a step further and add a title or heading to the field where it appears in the product info page.

    Field Title: field value

    so that it is more obvious to the customer what it is (e.g. Height: 50cm).

    I used a version of this snippet of code .... to ensure it doesn't appear if there is nothing in the table for that field.

    <?php if (!empty($product_info->fields['custom1_planets'])) echo '<tr><td class="custom-head">Planetary Body:</td><td class="custom-body">' . $product_info->fields['products_custom1'] . '</td></tr>'; ?>

    but do I need to add some code elsewhere ... the field value is working but how do I get the Field Title to appear (in a colour and as a heading)?

    Thanks

    Gillian

  7. #177
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    35
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    once you are done, can you share the total steps and the code, because i couldn't get to show the extra fields in the product listing page, i was able to show it in the admin area and the product info page only.

    thanks.

  8. #178
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    133
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Quote Originally Posted by Techiescot View Post
    ...but do I need to add some code elsewhere ... the field value is working but how do I get the Field Title to appear (in a colour and as a heading)?
    Gillian,

    Unless you're querying one data field and supplying data from another field, then you have a mismatch between $product_info->fields['custom1_planets'] and $product_info->fields['products_custom1'].

    Also, if "Planetary Body" is not the field title, which requires CSS for for color and heading specification, then I'm not sure what you are asking.

  9. #179
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Hi

    Thanks ...

    I have used the following code to have the new product additional fields appear when they are filled in and disappear when there is no value for it ... but it isn't working.

    Help!

    The FIELD TITLE is still appearing whether there is a value for it or not.

    Also, can someone help me to format the FIELD TITLES in Bold but not the values. I would like it to look like this ...

    Measurements: 30 x 50

    Materials: Glass and Aluminium

    Maintenance: No Maintenance required

    I am getting there slowly .... a case of trial and error ... but if someone could speed things up for me, I would be most grateful.

    THANKS


    Gillian

    <!--bof Product New Properties -->

    <div class="productaddfields">
    <?php if(isset($products_measurements)) {
    echo TEXT_PRODUCTS_MEASUREMENTS .$products_measurements ; }?><br />
    <?php if(isset($products_materials)) {
    echo TEXT_PRODUCTS_MATERIALS .$products_materials ; }?><br />
    <?php if(isset($products_maintenance)) {
    echo TEXT_PRODUCTS_MAINTENANCE .$products_maintenance ; }?><br />

    </div>

    <!--eof Product New Properties -->

  10. #180
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    133
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How-To: Add new Properties to your Products

    Gillian -

    My custom data is now running through Tabbed Products Pro, but from an old tpl_product_info_display.php file I found this line of code which shows the title in bold and the data in plain via my CSS file:
    [FONT="Courier New"]
    <?php if (!empty($product_info->fields['init_upc'])) echo '<tr><td class="detail-head">UPC&nbsp;&raquo;&nbsp;</td><td class="detail-copy">' . $product_info->fields['init_upc'] . '</td></tr>'; ?>[/FONT]

    where init_upc is my custom data field, and I am 99% positive this did not show UPC » when there was no data value.

    FWIW, in TPP, I have the following bit of PHP, which definitely does not show the title when there is no data value:
    [FONT="Courier New"]
    $fmtDOT .= (($flag_show_product_info_init_upc == 1 and !empty($init_upc)) ? '<li style="list-style:none;margin-left:-2.25em"><strong>upc</strong> &nbsp;' . $init_upc . '</li>' : '') . "\n";[/FONT]

    In the above example, like too many bits of hard-coded style values on my site, I have not yet converted it into CSS.

 

 
Page 18 of 28 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. change how latest products works or add new box that displays products we select
    By Sushigal in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12 Oct 2010, 04:19 PM
  2. shopping cart contents and new properties to the products
    By stitchnkitty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 Nov 2009, 05:50 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20 Jun 2009, 04:06 PM
  4. !! Please help !! Add new Properties to your Products
    By JohnSquier in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27 Feb 2008, 05:46 AM
  5. alter and add new product properties
    By jmitton in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20 Jan 2008, 03:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR