DrByte:
That is normal. At the end of the purchase screens at the PayPal site, the customer is presented with a question: do you want to create a PayPal account so you can do future purchases faster, etc? If the customer chooses yes or no, then the order will be completed. If they dont' choose an answer to the question but just close their browser instead, your store will never hear about the order.
This is because PayPal's servers wait until the customer makes a choice before PayPal's server talks to your server to tell you about the order.
I'm not sure if PayPal has changed its process or I'm missing something.
I've tested several times as a non-PP member and gave my credit card number on PP site. After clicking the "Pay Now" button, the next screen gave the following information:
Receipt ID
Merchant Contact Information
Yellow button indicating Return to "url of my store"
Save Your Information (Email printed and password window)
Light blue "Create PayPal Account" button.
They didn't asks whether I wanted to created a PP account.
For test purposes, I closed the browser on that page without doing anything, and I received an email from PayPal that payment was received. My store also sent emails to the customer account and owner account with the details of order (price, quantity, shipping).
It seems that things are pretty much in order despite the customer not returning to my store after making a payment as a non-PP member. My questions are,
-
I read micmed's posting and the problem he/she is having. Am I not having the same problem because PayPal has changed its process, or am I not understanding something here?
-
What is the difference between customer returning to my store and not returning?
finally,
- There is a "Payment Data Transfer" option on my PayPal setting. Could someone direct me to a thread that explains what it is and how I should set it?
Thanks a bunch,
Susan