New Zenner
- Join Date:
- Feb 2009
- Posts:
- 95
- Plugin Contributions:
- 0
auth only vs. final sale for PayPal
Hi all,
Im using paypal website payments pro setup with api.
I've been trying to figure out the difference between the two. From what I've read so far, I've pieced together the following:
auth only means that the transaction must be authorized before being transmitted to paypal.
Is this true?
If so, where is the payment authorized from? The admin interface?
final sale means that the payment does not have to be pre-authorized and is sent to paypal as soon as the customer completes the transaction.
Am I correct here or off base?
Assuming the above is true, would there be an disadvantage to using final sale as apposed to auth only since you could still issue a refund if the customer decided to cancel an order.
Thanks!