Hi,
Headbanging is a required part of using Zen Cart. :laugh:
Here's what I wrote in another post in another part of the Upgrade section of the forum, with a few minor edits in [square brackets]...
In an existing live site there will be 3 kinds of files. These are dealt with differently during an upgrade:
- original unmodified files:
- completely replaced by new files [unless there is no new file by that name]
- original files that have been modified but which [you couldn't or didn't] put in an over-ride folder:
- replaced by new files that you have to edit again to put back your changes, with the following caveats...
- some of these may be able to go into over-ride folders now
- some of your changes may no longer be necessary due to code changes in the new version
- some of your changes may break the new version
- original files which were copied to an over-ride folder and modified there
- start by copying these over-ride folders over to the same location in the new install, BUT...
- you need to compare these files to the same files in the new release since they are based on parts of the earlier release, and that earlier code may not work in the new version
- maybe the simplest thing to do is to compare the old original of these files to the new original. If there are no changes, then you're safe to use your modified version. If there are differences, then copy your modifications to the new version of the file and put that in your over-ride folder.
- see the caveats under 2 above
Don't forget to take note of any mods you installed on your old site, then go and get the latest version of them (if any) and be prepared to figure out mod by mod which of the changes you've so carefully dealt with above were part of an old mod, that are no longer needed or advisable. :frusty:
Rob
Breakfast: the most important donut of the day.