Forums / General Questions / Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

Locked

Views: 915

Results 1 to 4 of 4
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
10 Dec 2009, 2:58 AM
#1
gonewild avatar

gonewild

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Apr 2005
Posts:
145
Plugin Contributions:
0

Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

Does deleting an item have any ill effect on reports or accounting?

We sell a lot of one of a kind items. Once an item sells and is no longer in stock it is disabled but remains on the item list.
Our admin lists have a lot of items that we don't need to see and scroll through.
If we delete the items would that affect things like sales reports or once an item is sold does it's sale info become archived?
In other words is there a problem if I delete disabled products?
I hope what I wrote makes sense.

14 Mar 2010, 4:00 AM
#2
gonewild avatar

gonewild

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Apr 2005
Posts:
145
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

Still wondering about this.

14 Mar 2010, 9:20 AM
#3
schoolboy avatar

schoolboy

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Jun 2005
Location:
Cumbria, UK
Posts:
10,327
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

When a product is SOLD, details of the transaction - including the product information - are written to various tables, including the ORDERS tables.

Zencart appreciates that some products will eventually be discontinued, necessitating their removal (deletion) from the database, but that previous orders of that product must be archived.

So it writes appropriate info to the orders tables so that this history is preserved.

You can safely delete discontinued products without this affecting previous order history.

20 years a Zencart User

15 Mar 2010, 12:43 AM
#4
gonewild avatar

gonewild

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Apr 2005
Posts:
145
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable vs delete products? Will deleting cause any problems?

Thank you very much for clarifying that.