Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

Locked

Started by petek on 19 May 2010, 9:29 AM · Views: 2,780

Results 21 to 27 of 27
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
13 Sep 2010, 5:31 AM
#21
pixelarcher avatar

pixelarcher

New Zenner

Join Date:
Aug 2008
Posts:
14
Plugin Contributions:
0

Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

I'm having the same problem too.. but both 'France, Metropolitan' and 'Zaire' were missing in my upgraded database.

I've put them back in but my customer info is still not displaying in the admin side of Zencart under 'Customers'.. i see it there in the database but it's not displaying... this is resulting in confirmation emails not sending to the existing customers when they order and their information not appearing at all in the 'Orders' section of the admin either.

I'm using v1.3.9f.. upgraded from 1.3.8a. I had to merge databases as i was working locally on v1.3.9f while 1.3.8a was still live and incurring new orders and customer registrations.

any help? I compared the files via win merge, that's how i found the country discrepancies... I also found that these lines were added in the DB upgrade:
KEY idx_cust_id_orders_id_zen (customers_id,orders_id)

KEY idx_prod_id_orders_id_zen (products_id,orders_id)

Would that have affected the existing customer information before the upgrade? (new customer info seems to be logging in all areas okay).

ideas? suggestions?

13 Sep 2010, 7:56 AM
#22
petek avatar

petek

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Jan 2008
Location:
Chevreuse, France
Posts:
278
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

I use Beyond Compare which is much more user friendly than WinMerge. I simply compared the data bases and added in the missing country, ie Metropolitan France excluding Corsica. I was told that the upgrade couldn't result in a country being deleted but somehow it did ! Probably due to the fact that it was I who added "Metropolitan France excluding Corsica" in the first place !

Pete
zc 1.3.9h
www.gardenserre.fr

13 Sep 2010, 11:50 AM
#23
pixelarcher avatar

pixelarcher

New Zenner

Join Date:
Aug 2008
Posts:
14
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

yeah it's odd and i was missing 2 countries, but none of my customers are from either. Still i re-added them to see if it would fix my problem but it didn't.

I'll try Beyond Compare and see if it will pick up anything that Win Merge may have not flagged

this is a very weird thing to happen.. i wonder if it's actually an admin file problem and not a database problem.

13 Sep 2010, 2:50 PM
#24
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

These two are not "missing" they are no longer valid ...

France, Metropolitan is now France ...

Zaire is, I believe, Congo ...

I would remove those two countries, if you added them back in, and change them on the address book to the values for these countries ...

Linda McGrath
If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

**Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!**

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today!]
Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

14 Sep 2010, 2:52 AM
#25
pixelarcher avatar

pixelarcher

New Zenner

Join Date:
Aug 2008
Posts:
14
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

took them back out.

It seems that my address_book table was not merged so all old customer data was missing. I merged the and the information is now displaying correctly in the admin > customers section.. now i have to make sure that the information is displaying correctly in their orders as that was turning up blank too.

stupid mistake on my part, I swear i merged the address book tables. oh well, live and learn!

14 Sep 2010, 3:29 AM
#26
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,515
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

pixelarcher:

I had to merge databases as i was working locally on v1.3.9f while 1.3.8a was still live and incurring new orders and customer registrations.
You're not supposed to attempt to merge databases. That's almost always going to cause problems.

The MUCH SAFER way is to put your live site down for maintenance, take a backup, upgrade IT, and then use it directly. If you've been making any database changes or changing admin settings in your test site in preparation for the upgrade, take notes and redo those changes in the live database after upgrading it. THAT WAY YOU NEVER LOSE ANY REAL LIVE DATA, and save yourself weeks of trying to figure out how to merge data and wondering whether you've got it all or not.
Not to mention it saves all the support people all kinds of confusion and trouble trying to figure out what you did wrong.
That's why the upgrade instructions are written the way they are.

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

14 Sep 2010, 1:01 PM
#27
pixelarcher avatar

pixelarcher

New Zenner

Join Date:
Aug 2008
Posts:
14
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Customer details lost afetr upgrade from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9b

Dr.Byte that was tought to do this time around because their website underwent a huge overhaul that took months (almost a year). so with config changes, new categories, new products and such it was not possible to do so.

It was a whole new store but they wanted to keep their customer and order info.