Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Locked

Views: 1,152

Results 1 to 9 of 9
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
3 Sep 2010, 11:55 PM
#1
acreativepage avatar

acreativepage

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Sep 2004
Posts:
146
Plugin Contributions:
0

Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

I upgraded from the last Zen Cart version to 1.3.9d. Any way of going back to the last version so it will restore my last settings?? All design work I did is now gone because I upgraded! I have to remember all of and redo it. So Frustrating!!

Stacee Edwards

3 Sep 2010, 11:57 PM
#2
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,514
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Um ... How exactly did you "upgrade"?

Which of these steps did you skip? https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=108

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

4 Sep 2010, 12:38 AM
#3
acreativepage avatar

acreativepage

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Sep 2004
Posts:
146
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

I upgraded from the web host control panel.

Stacee Edwards

4 Sep 2010, 1:20 AM
#4
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,514
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Nuf said. Don't do that.

Restore your site from backup, and then follow the official upgrade instructions.

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

4 Sep 2010, 2:01 AM
#5
acreativepage avatar

acreativepage

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Sep 2004
Posts:
146
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Back up? I don't have a back up.

Stacee Edwards

4 Sep 2010, 2:04 AM
#6
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,514
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

That's very bad.
Rule Number One when working with websites: Always make backups before making any changes.

When you login to your admin, are your products and customers and orders still there? Especially the latest ones?

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

4 Sep 2010, 2:09 AM
#7
website_rob avatar

website_rob

Inactive

Join Date:
Oct 2006
Location:
Alberta, Canada
Posts:
4,572
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

acreativepage:

Back up? I don't have a back up.
Ask your Hoster if they have a backup and what the date is for it. Sometimes the backup is recent but sometimes it is not.

The learning is in the doing.

Potent Products

4 Sep 2010, 2:30 AM
#8
acreativepage avatar

acreativepage

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Sep 2004
Posts:
146
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Thank you for all of your help!!

Stacee Edwards

4 Sep 2010, 2:39 AM
#9
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,514
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Upgraded to 1.3.9d and it Erased Everything

Remember: Your Zen Cart store consists of two major components: the "files" (PHP files, image files, css files, etc) and the "database" (which stores all your products, customers, orders, etc).

If your admin shows all your products and customers and orders, then I suggest you do a fresh database backup BEFORE you ask your hosting company to restore an old backup.
Database Backup instructions: https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=103

File Backup instructions: Use your FTP program to copy all the files from your site server to your PC

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.