Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

Locked

Views: 1,708

Results 1 to 5 of 5
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
15 Oct 2010, 8:28 AM
#1
joyjoy avatar

joyjoy

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Sep 2010
Posts:
611
Plugin Contributions:
0

Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

Hi, I see that a new version is available. I just had a quick question.

When I do a new upgrade are all files reinstalled like a fresh install? I know that's one of the reasons in creating all override files?

Is it advisable to save ALL modified files in a separate override file? Does Zen Cart automatically default to use your override files vs. the defaults when available? Just wanted to be clear on that so I don't have any issues in the future with newer versions.

Thank you!

15 Oct 2010, 8:49 AM
#2
kobra avatar

kobra

Black Belt

Join Date:
Aug 2005
Location:
Arizona
Posts:
31,500
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

quick question for the pros...
Well you got me first....
You need all the new core files
You need to check the change log against the files you have overridden to see if they have a new version

If so, you need to op the new file and make your customizations to it. This is why it is advised that ONLY the files you need to edit/change are place in your template override strycture

This keeps the number of files that must be checked if they have a new version at a relatively low number

15 Oct 2010, 8:55 AM
#3
joyjoy avatar

joyjoy

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Sep 2010
Posts:
611
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

You are definetly a PRO! Thanks for the response.

So just to clarify, it's recommended to keep override files of only the files you have actually modified?

When doing an upgrade these files will not be affected but all the default files...if there are changes will be changed?

Oh and what does the term op mean?

I have also made changes to my admin files will they be lost?

I'm scared, this would be my first upgrade. Thank you again for your time.

15 Oct 2010, 9:04 AM
#4
kobra avatar

kobra

Black Belt

Join Date:
Aug 2005
Location:
Arizona
Posts:
31,500
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

When doing an upgrade these files will not be affected but all the default files...if there are changes will be changed?

Oh and what does the term op mean?
Should have been "open"

Your not affected statement needs a bit of clarification

If ANY file you have altered has a NEW VERSION
You MUST use the new version of the file

This means that you will have to incorporate your changes into the new file

I have also made changes to my admin files will they be lost?
Yes, as there are no admin overrides those will be lost...

I normally, when editing a "core"file" place my name in the comments
I can then use the developers tool kit to find all files that have that text in them and have a list of those files that I have altered

15 Oct 2010, 9:10 AM
#5
joyjoy avatar

joyjoy

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Sep 2010
Posts:
611
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

Okay I think I understand.

I'll work on this. Thank you again!