Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / ok so im confused...

ok so im confused...

Locked

Views: 648

Results 1 to 4 of 4
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
27 Oct 2010, 3:31 PM
#1
chris1100 avatar

chris1100

New Zenner

Join Date:
Oct 2010
Posts:
2
Plugin Contributions:
0

ok so im confused...

Ok, im new to the whole zencart idea, im hosted by Dreamhost, i done the one click install for Zencart which is fine as i have managed to get it all up and running and functional - added some products, banners etc, made loads of modifications to files and deleted bits here and there. This is all good, but now i have found myself wondering about what happens if i click upgrade (Current: v1.3.9f) to v1.3.9g after modifying loads of .php files and changing the name of my admin folder.

This was mainly just as a test, but i have fiddled enough that i am genuinely happy with the look and feel of the site that i want to keep it and not slave away over all of my modifications again.

So what happens if i click 'Upgrade' ?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks,
Chris

27 Oct 2010, 3:45 PM
#2
stevesh avatar

stevesh

Black Belt

Join Date:
Feb 2005
Location:
Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts:
19,793
Plugin Contributions:
2

Re: ok so im confused...

Hard to say, but it may well not be good. It would depend on what files you've edited, and if they are all in your override folders. Using an auto-installer to upgrade Zencart is not recommended.

Upgrading from one 1.3.9 version to another is (so far, anyway) just a matter of looking in the changelog file for the new version and just replace the files that have changed. I have multiple sites, so I make a upgrade 'tree' with all the changed files in the proper folders so I can just drag and drop. Creating that tree and upgrading eight sites (and doing a clean test installation with the latest version) took me a little over an hour this morning.

27 Oct 2010, 3:56 PM
#3
chris1100 avatar

chris1100

New Zenner

Join Date:
Oct 2010
Posts:
2
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: ok so im confused...

Ok, so the auto upgrade feature within zencart is not recommended?

I'm guessing its common sense not to jump from likes of v1.3.9f to v1.3.9h as this could cause problems?

Chris

27 Oct 2010, 4:04 PM
#4
stevesh avatar

stevesh

Black Belt

Join Date:
Feb 2005
Location:
Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts:
19,793
Plugin Contributions:
2

Re: ok so im confused...

The auto-upgrade feature isn't part of Zencart. It's part of Fantastico or whatever auto-installer your host offers.