gjh42:
The "upgrade" selection is for the database; it is not intended to refer to the files. What you think it ought to mean does not change what it does mean.
I didn't post to argue simple English. The file is a "Zencart" update, not a "Zencart database" update. If you're upgrading the cart that implies the entire product not a piece of it leaving you to have to edit multiple files and certainly merits asking a forum of experts for clarification. Judging by the number of posts about upgrading, I'm not the only one who thought upgrade referred to the entire product and not just the database.
gjh42:
You say "nothing" was changed from the initial install. Does that mean it still has the stock green Classic template with the Zen Cart logo, and the boilerplate text in various places like "Congratulations, you have installed Zen Cart..."?
If not, you have some changes to files. If those were done in /classic/ folders, you need to follow the "creating a template" instructions in the tutorials to copy all /classic/ files to new /custom/ folders. If they were done in /custom/ folders (whatever the name is), and you have NO changes that are not in /custom/ folders, you could theoretically just upload the new fileset over the existing set and your changes would be safe (except for the /includes/configure.php and /your_admin_name/includes/configure.php).
Hosting server security maintenance has nothing to do with Zen Cart file security upgrades.
Clearly the upgrade process is more involved than I initially thought. The "3 easy steps" I find to be a gross oversimplification of the upgrade process (and this is only my opinion). Particularly when I'm not the person who did the initial install but coming along after the fact to try to help out. I have to rely on what the guy that did the setup says when he states that all he did was input inventory when in actuality he installed UPS api's and added a facebook link to the first page. Probably more than that.
Also, as upgrade implies files that need to be modified should simply have what was changed/added/removed handled programatically. In a perfect world.
I understand now, this is not the case here. Which is fine, I'll deal with it.
Like Kuroi says, it is what it is. My post was just an attempt at trying to get up to speed (put my interpretation of "upgrade" in the appropriate context), and look for any shortcuts or tips the community might have to offer.
Thanks for the reply, I'm off to file compare hell.