Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / confused about changelog

confused about changelog

Locked

Started by rstevenson on 6 Apr 2011, 3:06 PM · Views: 604

Results 1 to 3 of 3
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
6 Apr 2011, 3:06 PM
#1
rstevenson avatar

rstevenson

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Nov 2006
Location:
Dartmouth, NS Canada
Posts:
2,400
Plugin Contributions:
0

confused about changelog

Hi,

I find the notations in the 1.3.9h changelog to be confusing. I wonder if someone could clarify for me.

It says...

Deleted Files (since release of v1.3.9a/b/c/d/e/f/g)
* /admin/includes/languages/english/cache.php (deleted in 1.3.9g)
* /admin/includes/functions/gzip_compression.php (deleted in 1.3.9f)
* /includes/functions/gzip_compression.php (deleted in 1.3.9f)

Is this not a list of files deleted in 1.3.9h? If so, why is it saying these files were deleted in earlier versions?

Similarly...

New Files (since release of v1.3.9a/b/c/d/e/f/g)
* /admin/alert_page.php (added in 1.3.9g)
* /admin/includes/functions/extra_functions/add_cookie_path_switch.php (NEW in v1.3.9h)
* /admin/includes/init_includes/init_sanitize.php (was added in 1.3.9g, but now can be deleted in v1.3.9h)
* /admin/includes/languages/english/alert_page.php (added in 1.3.9g)

Two of those were added in earlier versions, but are listed here? And one was added in g but is to be deleted now?

Perhaps this list from the 1.3.9h docs is a consolidated list of all changes since 1.3.9a. But I'm sure I've seen advice here that says to make all the changes as listed in all the changelogs from each version, consecutively. In which case this wouldn't be a consolidated list but only a 1.3.9h list.

I'm sure I'm just not getting it, but that's par for the course (to use a Masters metaphor.) :blink:

Rob

Breakfast: the most important donut of the day.

7 Apr 2011, 5:31 AM
#2
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,511
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: confused about changelog

The information presented is correct. Notations referring to specific prior versions are there to minimize confusion if someone is upgrading through multiple steps and wonders why files are not present when they were before.
And the repetition of files deleted in prior versions is intentional so that people get a second reminder to actually do the deletion. If you've already done that, good for you ... saves you a step.

.
Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

7 Apr 2011, 2:41 PM
#3
rstevenson avatar

rstevenson

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Nov 2006
Location:
Dartmouth, NS Canada
Posts:
2,400
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: confused about changelog

Thanks Doc.

Rob

Breakfast: the most important donut of the day.