Zen Cart Logo
Forums / General Questions / Ultimate SEO URLs

Ultimate SEO URLs

Views: 868

Results 1 to 6 of 6
20 Apr 2011, 1:57 PM
#1
knutsford_software avatar

knutsford_software

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2011
Posts:
9
Plugin Contributions:
0

Ultimate SEO URLs

I am using 1.3. 9 and I am thinking of installing Ultimate SEO URLs. It says to change product.php and category.php in the admin library. Won't that mean changing the core files? Can I create a template library and put my version of the two files under there instead?

Thanks

20 Apr 2011, 2:15 PM
#2
stevesh avatar

stevesh

Black Belt

Join Date:
Feb 2005
Location:
Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts:
19,793
Plugin Contributions:
2

Re: Ultimate SEO URLs

No, admin files aren't overridable.

20 Apr 2011, 3:00 PM
#3
knutsford_software avatar

knutsford_software

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2011
Posts:
9
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Ultimate SEO URLs

Thought so. I had better check then if the designer still wants it doing. I suspect not if upgrades will mean doing the admin change again.

20 Apr 2011, 3:05 PM
#4
afo avatar

afo

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
New York City
Posts:
6,800
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Ultimate SEO URLs

Yes, upgrades/updates will require the changes to be done again.

You can create an "overrides" folder and save a copy of your changes just as you would when doing a real override. Major difference: the override won't be used in the admin and you'll also have to save the changes to the core file. You could also save the original file to a folder (say /orig) so you have an "untouched" version that you can go back to if necessary.

Saving a copy of your changes to an "overrides" folder will make future updates/upgrades a little easier to deal with.

20 Apr 2011, 3:35 PM
#5
gjh42 avatar

gjh42

Black Belt

Join Date:
Jul 2005
Location:
Upstate NY
Posts:
21,876
Plugin Contributions:
8

Re: Ultimate SEO URLs

I suspect not if upgrades will mean doing the admin change again.This is not really much different from overrideable files, as if there are changes to the base file, they will need to be compared and merged in any case. If no changes, simply replacing the new version copy with your "/override/" copy as afo suggests will take care of it immediately.

27 Apr 2011, 3:42 AM
#6
wmorris avatar

wmorris

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Aug 2007
Location:
Amarillo, Tx
Posts:
1,682
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Ultimate SEO URLs

How do you unistall the ultimate SEO URL?