Forums / Installing on a Linux/Unix Server / Running Fantastico Twice

Running Fantastico Twice

Views: 569

Results 1 to 3 of 3
16 May 2011, 4:44 PM
#1
ilikemike avatar

ilikemike

New Zenner

Join Date:
Dec 2010
Posts:
31
Plugin Contributions:
0

Running Fantastico Twice

I have an existing Zen-Cart installation (installed via Fantastico on cPanel). It's working fine and it is operational.

I now want to install another one, on a different directory, for test purposes.

Fantastico allows that by letting me specify a different subdirectory, but on the 2nd installation page (just before clicking Finish installation) it says:

The MySQL database and MySQL user ilikemike_zc1 will be created and used for this installation.

Now... ilikemike_zc1 is the same MySQL user as the operational store has. I definitely intend to use the same user for the test store, but I am afraid that letting Fantastico "create an existing MySQL user" will hurt the existing operational store. (for example, by deleting associated databases or changing the password, etc.)

Before hitting that irreversible "Finish Installation" button... Do you happen to know what Fantastico actually does when it tries to create a MySQL user that already exists?

Thanks.

16 May 2011, 5:28 PM
#2
Kim avatar

Kim

Obaa-san

Join Date:
Jun 2003
Location:
West Coast, North America
Posts:
26,684
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Running Fantastico Twice

Honestly ... You should do a manual install. You are going to need to know how the files are structured, the permissions and other things when you upgrade in the future.

Please do not PM for support issues: a private solution doesn't benefit the community.

Be careful with unsolicited advice via email or PM - Make sure the person you are talking to is a reliable source.

16 May 2011, 5:44 PM
#3
ilikemike avatar

ilikemike

New Zenner

Join Date:
Dec 2010
Posts:
31
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Running Fantastico Twice

Kim:

Honestly ... You should do a manual install. You are going to need to know how the files are structured, the permissions and other things when you upgrade in the future.
:smile: That's exactly what your answer caught me doing right now... :smile: