Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9 / Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

Views: 1,312

Results 1 to 6 of 6
23 Sep 2011, 1:16 AM
#1
absoluteblock avatar

absoluteblock

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Oct 2006
Posts:
107
Plugin Contributions:
0

Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

Can I upgrade from 1.3.7 to 1.3.9.h AND a new template at the same time?

If so, what needs to be done differently?

23 Sep 2011, 4:12 AM
#2
rodg avatar

rodg

Deceased

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
Australia
Posts:
6,263
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

absoluteblock:

Can I upgrade from 1.3.7 to 1.3.9.h AND a new template at the same time?

If so, what needs to be done differently?

You can, but you shouldn't.

What if something goes amiss? If you do both together you'll have no idea wherher it is the template causing the problem or the upgrade itself.

Cheers
Rod

23 Sep 2011, 8:06 AM
#3
kuroi avatar

kuroi

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Apr 2006
Location:
London, UK
Posts:
10,475
Plugin Contributions:
11

Re: Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

Agree with Rod. There's not an awful lot different template-wise between 1.3.7 and 1.3.9, so there's no need to upgrade the template at the same time as there would have been if you were upgrading from the 1.2.x series.

So it's safer and easier to keep these two steps separate.

23 Sep 2011, 12:23 PM
#4
swguy avatar

swguy

Administrator

Join Date:
Feb 2006
Location:
Tampa Bay, Florida
Posts:
10,695
Plugin Contributions:
56

Re: Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

Me three. I'm a huge fan of doing "one thing at a time." I would even suggest separating the upgrade (do this first) and the template change by a couple of weeks - sometimes after an upgrade it takes a while for the little things you might have missed to show up.

28 Sep 2011, 11:24 PM
#5
absoluteblock avatar

absoluteblock

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Oct 2006
Posts:
107
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

The 1.3.7 template in question was modified the wrong way by removing bits of code instead of using overrides and disabling features in the admin panel.

I totally see where you guys are coming from here...I'm just not sure how to proceed given my specific situation because I want to discard the current template. In other words, I have no desire whatsoever to use the current 1.3.7 template with 1.3.9h.

Do I go back and attempt to create the 1.3.7 template all over again the proper way before doing the 1.3.9h upgrade? Or can I take what I have currently and go straight to the 1.3.9h upgrade?

1 Oct 2011, 12:58 PM
#6
rodg avatar

rodg

Deceased

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
Australia
Posts:
6,263
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Upgrade + New Template = Same Time?

kenneth105813:

I just want to upgrade the system,but I can't get it.

What is it that you can't get? Why not? What kind of error are you getting?

Cheers
Rod