New Zenner
- Join Date:
- Sep 2010
- Location:
- UK
- Posts:
- 23
- Plugin Contributions:
- 0
Upgrading from 1.3.7 - help please!
In the process of upgrading from 1.3.7. Doing an upgrade on the test site (which is mirror of live site) first. Am at the Winmerge stage and need to clarify a few things so as usual, forgive the stoopid newbie questions. I find if I keep reading/asking questions all of a sudden things suddenly drop into place and I understand what I'm doing and why which makes everything so much easier (and I want to learn rather than follow instructions if you see what I mean) so please bear with me while I reach that point :blush:
First set of dumb questions:
-
I've looked at all the ChangeLogs between 1.3.7 and 1.3.9h (I assume this is necessary?) - there are obviously a lot of files that have been changed. Am I right in saying that, when I compare the original version of 1.3.7 (zen_orig) to the current live 1.3.7 (zen_backup), those files listed in the changelogs which have not been customised/altered can simply be overwritten?
-
I can't seem to get it straight in my head how the upgrade works with the override system. The override files are obviously based on the 1.3.7 files. Do I:
- compare zen_orig with the override files and make note of changes
- then add those changes into the 1.3.9h files and save them as the new override files
- any files in the override which have not been changed since 1.3.7 can be left as is
I'm pretty sure I'm making this far more complicated than it needs to be but it's not making sense at the moment and I'm annoyed with myself. Hoping someone can make the penny drop for me.
TIA :smile: