Forums / General Questions / Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Started by josee225 on 26 Dec 2011, 12:27 AM · Views: 968

Results 1 to 6 of 6
26 Dec 2011, 12:27 AM
#1
josee225 avatar

josee225

New Zenner

Join Date:
Feb 2009
Posts:
78
Plugin Contributions:
0

Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Hello,

we recently duplicated our store, because we are starting a new website, and wanted to keep the inventory.

I would like to know if it is possible, and more specifically how to clear the customers and orders in the database so we can start fresh for the new site.

Thank you!

26 Dec 2011, 8:23 AM
#2
usernamenone avatar

usernamenone

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Sep 2006
Posts:
541
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

You would have to delete them through admin->customers->customers.


Play with it long enough and you will break it.
26 Dec 2011, 2:00 PM
#3
josee225 avatar

josee225

New Zenner

Join Date:
Feb 2009
Posts:
78
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Thanks! I am sorry I wasn't clear enough, I meant directly in the database.

26 Dec 2011, 3:39 PM
#4
stevesh avatar

stevesh

Black Belt

Join Date:
Feb 2005
Location:
Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts:
19,793
Plugin Contributions:
2

Re: Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

It's better to take the time to delete customers through admin. The customer information is stored in multiple tables in the database and missing just one can cause errors when your new customers try to sign up.

26 Dec 2011, 10:13 PM
#5
josee225 avatar

josee225

New Zenner

Join Date:
Feb 2009
Posts:
78
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Ok thank you!

27 Dec 2011, 5:08 PM
#6
gjh42 avatar

gjh42

Black Belt

Join Date:
Jul 2005
Location:
Upstate NY
Posts:
21,876
Plugin Contributions:
8

Re: Clearing the orders and customers in the Database

Per your other thread, if you mainly want to keep your inventory, you can upgrade your database to a new v1.5.0 installation rather than duplicating the v1.3.7 files you have. It's bad enough to keep a v1.3.7 store operating (especially if you take credit cards), but there is no good excuse for making a new one using the old v1.3.7.