Jwduke3d, I did something similar, expanding a bit on the FAQ found at http://www.zen-cart.com/content.php?140...
I decided that I wanted to build my 1.5.0 site out from scratch, too while maintaining customer, product, order data, etc. Agree wholeheartedly that trying to migrate ONLY this type of data is a recipe for disaster, so here's what I came up with:
-
Backed up my Production site files and database.
-
Created a new Upgrade store folder and a new, empty zc_upgrade database, into which I restored the Production database backup.
-
Copied my Production site files to the new Upgrade folder, and edited the two configure.php files to reflect the new Upgrade store path and zc_upgrade database. Browsed the Upgrade site and logged into the new Upgrade admin panel. All seemed to function identically to my Production site.
-
Since I didn't care to carry over any customizations, I removed the Contribution add-in modules that I was aware had made database changes, so that no add-on modules showed in the Upgrade admin area when I was finished.
-
I then copied the new Zen Cart v1.5.0 distribution files to the (v1.3.9) Upgrade store folder, as mentioned in the FAQ I referenced.
Note that the FAQ didn't address this, but my Upgrade store's admin folder (as copied from my Production site) had been renamed and was therefore different than the base distribution "admin" folder, essentially leaving me with two admin directories (but the configure.php files were still correctly referencing my Upgrade/renamed-admin folder).
-
I ran the installer (https://www.mystore.com/Upgrade/zc_install/index.php), choosing the update database option.
-
Once complete, I backed up the database from this "cleaned up" Upgrade store. This represented my new, v1.5.0 Upgrade database.
-
I created a new, fresh Zen Cart v1.5.0 site, using a newly created database. I then restored the v1.5.0 Upgrade database from the backup created in step 7, above into this new database.
Other than setting the template back to the Classic Green default, the new v1.5.0 site seems to be just fine, with my customer, product, site config and other data wholly intact.
I may have gone around the block here, but this seemed to make sense to me. If I were to do it over again (and I may), I would have uninstalled my template as part of the cleanup process mentioned in step 4, before backing up the database and upgrading it.
Does anyone see any gaping gotchas in my method, or could any straggler add-ins that I may have overlooked still be lurking in there to create issues?
-DBB1