Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Managing Customers and Orders / reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

Views: 2,811

Results 1 to 7 of 7
8 May 2012, 9:33 PM
#1
cdderby avatar

cdderby

New Zenner

Join Date:
May 2012
Posts:
4
Plugin Contributions:
0

reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

When 2 users visit my cart within minutes of each other, the second user sees the profile information of the first user, as if it is retaining the session on the server and offering it up to the next visitor.
If the second user fails to notice and completes their purchase, their confimation email is sent to the first user (whose profile they are logged in under).
I verified that the users are NOT sharing a computer (users were in 2 different cities).
I tried enabling "check SSL session ID " to true, thinking this would force the 2nd user to create a new session, but no joy.

What is going on here? How do I make Zen Cart make a new user session for each visitor?
Should I enable check user agent ? (what is it?)
Force cookies?

Help!

8 May 2012, 9:45 PM
#2
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

Have you sent emails with the zenid on it?

Have you sent newsletters with the zenid on it?

Have you posted links to your site with the zenid on it?

Have you an URL to your site that we can test to see what might be wrong? :unsure:

8 May 2012, 9:59 PM
#4
cdderby avatar

cdderby

New Zenner

Join Date:
May 2012
Posts:
4
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

Oh, so I rechecked the referring site, and it does have &zenid=blahblah on the end. That's forcing session reuse?

8 May 2012, 10:34 PM
#5
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

As long as the links you post do not include in the URL:
&zenid=xxxxxxxxx

then that should be fine ...

What are your settings in the Configuration ... Sessions ...

8 May 2012, 10:44 PM
#6
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,513
Plugin Contributions:
177

Re: reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

CDDerby:

Oh, so I rechecked the referring site, and it does have &zenid=blahblah on the end. That's forcing session reuse?
Yes, you have posted a link which specifies which session you want the customer to use, which is forcing customers to share the same data.

Ajeh is asking you about your sessions settings. Specifically, you should have "recreate session" enabled so that when customers log in they get a new session. But if customers are already logged into the session you've advertised for everyone to use, then that setting won't make any difference.

In short, you shouldn't include zenid values in URLs you post. Anywhere.

9 May 2012, 1:25 AM
#7
cdderby avatar

cdderby

New Zenner

Join Date:
May 2012
Posts:
4
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: reuses user sessions (SSL) ?

Thanks. I removed the zenid from all links and went ahead and updated recreate session as well.