Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Other Business Topics / Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Views: 129

Results 1 to 7 of 7
28 Apr 2014, 10:51 AM
#1
bikerstuff avatar

bikerstuff

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2014
Posts:
80
Plugin Contributions:
0

Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Is there any way to disable the VERY ANNOYING ADMIN console 15 minute timeout?
I do not care anything at all about being PCI compliant on a test site that is not live to public!
I spend more time logging in than I do making changes often! :blush:

As a newbie with almost no clue what I am doing with Zencart, Openoffice, Easypopulate, etc.. etc..
I do a ton of searching and reading trying to figure out how to do things. THEN I forget what I think I learned by the time I get logged back in after the time out.

It should at least be set to something decent like 1hr or so if not totally disabled. I can spend more than 15 minutes looking at the store as the customer would see it, trying to figure why something is not right, looking at the distributor site to get some info on an item or searching 2000 pics etc... and of course I am logged out again. LOL

I am not complaining, just stating it can be a big problem to some of us and why.

To get my Zenstore going I have set up at least 10 usernames and passwords now around the web. My hosting service, new email accounts, this forum, distributors, etc... so 1/2 the time I even forget what username or password is for my Zenstore and have to look it up. :blink:

Some of us are not very smart, but we still try. :smile:

28 Apr 2014, 1:23 PM
#3
bikerstuff avatar

bikerstuff

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2014
Posts:
80
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Thanks! That seemed to help allot!

I used the refresh Who's Online and set it to 1 minute, and included my IP also, so far not been timed out yet.

That seemed to be the easiest and best option, and when I go online later with the store open it will be easy to change back for PCI compliance.

28 Apr 2014, 5:12 PM
#4
simon1066 avatar

simon1066

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
UK
Posts:
1,326
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Bikerstuff:

To get my Zenstore going I have set up at least 10 usernames and passwords now around the web. My hosting service, new email accounts, this forum, distributors, etc... so 1/2 the time I even forget what username or password is for my Zenstore and have to look it up.

A password manager makes finding those logins a breeze. I use RoboForm to manage in excess of 150 logins.

28 Apr 2014, 7:51 PM
#5
bikerstuff avatar

bikerstuff

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2014
Posts:
80
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Thanks, I may try that RoboForm.

29 Apr 2014, 7:36 PM
#6
bikerstuff avatar

bikerstuff

New Zenner

Join Date:
Apr 2014
Posts:
80
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

Bikerstuff:

Thanks! That seemed to help allot!

I used the refresh Who's Online and set it to 1 minute, and included my IP also, so far not been timed out yet.

That seemed to be the easiest and best option, and when I go online later with the store open it will be easy to change back for PCI compliance.

Just an update,

Though it worked for me, for awhile, it seemed to have reset to the default of manual and NO to my IP.
I had purposely let Admin sit idle for 25 minutes or so several times to test it last time and I was staying logged in. Then somehow I started getting logged out again after the 15minutes!
I just set it back to check 1 minute and Yes for my IP again now.

I have no clue as to why it reset back to the default setting.

29 Apr 2014, 8:06 PM
#7
gjh42 avatar

gjh42

Black Belt

Join Date:
Jul 2005
Location:
Upstate NY
Posts:
21,876
Plugin Contributions:
8

Re: Disable Admin Timout on Development site?

I believe that admin setting is not a permanent change, but lasts only as long as your session is active. When you shut down for the night, you lose the session and will need to restart that setting.