Pazaz:
I think I am confusing myself now. I´ve been using zencart since 2006 and done many upgrades before but the instructions seem a little unclear to me now.
Do I upload the entire 1.5.4 set of files over my 1.3.9 ?
How does this affect my current renamed Admin folder?
Any answers would be a help Thanks
Mick
Will try to clear up some of this... Your current shop... Putit back online... There is no need to have it offline at the moment, and possibly not at all..
Your new directory location: if you want to play which file or folder shouldn't exist as part of the new files, feel free to merge and overwrite all files and folders, but also remove any files that have been directed to be removed since your first version. Or.... A much easier process of keeping a copy of all that backup you have made... Just in case... And following the somewhat simpler instructions first posted above by dr. Byte. In this case, you rebuild the software side of the site to the current coding standards/requirements, and you work with/identify any issues with updating the database. Once that works out, then there are a couple of suggested methods, but basically that's when the software is made accessible to the public and zc_install is again run to update the live database (backup to be made just prior to upgrade attempt, just in case... It is possibly at this point one would want to place the store in maintenance mode... Requiring only a few minutes of outage (that you've already warned your customers about, right?)
Yes, you may have always done things this way or that, but it doesn't imply that it is the recommended way..