I doubt it is related, unless the person returns to the site using a bookmark or other link which contains a zenid.
Otherwise, what happens when a person returns to the site depends upn their login status.
For example, If I visit a ZC shop as a guest(e.g. not logged in) and put something in the cart. If I then close the browser, and return some time later, then there should beno way that the shop remembers me and I shoudl not return to a cart with anything in it.
If however I log in and put something in my cart, then close the browser. Then return sometime later, there is a good chance that the cart will still contain my previous details. Whether it does depends on a number of factors.
The cookie time for a logged in user is set at arround 24 minutes, so strictly speaking if a person returns after that 24 minutes then their session should have expired, and none of their details would be remembered.
However their is a caveat to that. The garbage collection that clears session cookies can only run if their is a visitor to your site. In other words, it is possible that if no one visits your site for 1 hour or whatever, that original customer can return and still have their original session available.