Zen Follower
- Join Date:
- Apr 2006
- Posts:
- 354
- Plugin Contributions:
- 0
Warning messages when upgrading needed...
I have just finished upgrading from version 1.3.0.1 to 1.3.0.2 using the upgrade patch.
What should have been an easy process turned into a nightmare as during the installation process, rather than press the Database Upgrade button I pressed the Install button, which of course, over wrote my database with a fresh install... Thanks to Dr. Byte, I have managed to recover everything, but not without many hours of anguish and frustration.
I have been told that in the documentation, there are very specific instructions on upgrading, but not everyone reads such instructions...
I feel that to include a warning/warnings DIRECTLY on the page would not add to much to the size of the code... Currently at the top of that window is written:
Take a moment to check whether your webserver supports the features required for Zen Cart™ to operate. *Please resolve any errors or warnings before continuing. *Then click on Install * to continue.
I followed those instructions precisely! There is no diferentation in the wording for people doing a new install or upgrading. This needs to be immediately addressed.
Also, it would not hurt to have some kind of warning or popup window when you click on that delightful Install button, that says:
If you are in the process of doing an incremental upgrade, by pressing the Continue(or Next) button you will permanently delete and/or overwrite your existing database.
Remember the hundreds of hours you spent on fine tuning that little baby? Think carefully before you press the Continue/Next button or you may find yourself praying to the great Zen master above for mercy for the mistake you made...
If you are installing Zen-Cart for the first time, clicking on the Continue button will not be a problem..
If you are doing an incremental upgrade, do yourself a serious favor and click on the Cancel button to return to the previous window. In that window click on the Database Upgrade button...
Just above the four buttons (Install, Upgrade Cfg files, Database Upgrade, Re-check), there should be an explanation for each of them and when to use them...
I feel as this is a critical area of the upgrade process that this needs to be addressed as soon as possible, to save everyone a lot of time... Dr. Byte is doing a marvelous job, but in keeping with the Zen of this cart, the source of each problem needs to be addressed so that future instances are reduced... To be Zen is to be proactive in such matters...
I really feel that these changes need to be implemented into the next Upgrade Patch!