Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Installing on a Linux/Unix Server / Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

Locked

Views: 1,538

Results 1 to 5 of 5
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
20 Aug 2006, 8:35 PM
#1
philmck avatar

philmck

Inactive

Join Date:
Jul 2005
Posts:
33
Plugin Contributions:
0

Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

I downloaded the "changed files only" version of the latest 1.3.0.2 bugfix, read the install.txt file, copied the files to my server, browsed to zc_install, followed the instructions, selected "install"...and wiped my database clean, losing all my orders!

It turns out I should have selected "database upgrade" instead of "install" (I think). Does this copy the changed files as well? I'm still not sure how the upgrade is meant to work.

Meanwhile, my backup is at work and I'm off on holiday tomorrow, so the shop will have to stay offline for a while! Very unhappy. :-(

20 Aug 2006, 8:38 PM
#2
merlinpa1969 avatar

merlinpa1969

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Mar 2004
Posts:
13,031
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

to upgrade,
you need to upgrade fhe php etc files manually,
then run the zc_install,
choose UPGRADE

20 Aug 2006, 8:41 PM
#3
superprg avatar

superprg

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Feb 2006
Location:
Chicago
Posts:
1,349
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

Too scary but did you not see that option ...delete database if exists etc?

20 Aug 2006, 9:03 PM
#4
Kim avatar

Kim

Obaa-san

Join Date:
Jun 2003
Location:
West Coast, North America
Posts:
26,611
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

Rule #1

BACKUP!!! Before Doing Anything!!!

20 Aug 2006, 9:44 PM
#5
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: Warning! Be careful when 'upgrading'

I know rule #2!!!!

See rule #1 ... :smartass: