Yes most hosts I deal with do have that listed, but I'm not sure how Fantasico works, or how Fantastico "knows" when there is an update. If the hosting provider gets the update notice or if Fantastico gets it and feeds it to the hosting providers.
My point was... there are other software developers that let you know which is the best way to install the upgrade through Fantastico.
With advent of WHMHosts and Fantastico, there are many people out there that have different levels of expertise.
If they (the end user) have been lulled into an easy install/upgrade with past installations/upgrades, when a new version comes out, that will drastically change the function/display of the site. I feel the software developer should try to save their end users and the hosting providers who help the software developer push their software, (for free... I probably wouldn't have tried Zen Cart if it hadn't been on the server.) time and energy by warning the end user what to do, before they do it. Instead of a button to push to do an update automatically when it should be done manually.
Don't you agree?
It would make newer users feel better about using the software knowing they will be notified somehow . The email I received form Zen Cart never mentioned that I should do something different or manually upgrade. They just said:
This is a follow-up reminder that if you are running Zen Cart v1.3.0, v1.3.0.1, or v1.3.0.2, you are advised to install the Security Patch immediately.
Security Patch details can be found here:
http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showthread.php?t=43579
Additionally, REGARDLESS OF VERSION, if you haven't already taken the recommended steps to secure your site, it is good practice in the online world to take precautions to protect your store. A number of guidelines are distributed with Zen Cart documentation, but are also available online here:
http://www.zen-cart.com/wiki/index.php/Important_Site_Security_Recommendations
Zen Cart takes security issues seriously, and has fixed the reported security problems for the soon-to-be-released v1.3.5 code which has a lengthy list of enhancements in addition to fixes following a full re-audit of security issues in the code.
Please update your site ASAP to protect yourself from those who have nothing better to do than wreak havoc on your business website.
Regards,
The Zen Cart Team
Note: Replies to this email will not be read. If you have questions or problems, please post them to the support forum at http://www.zen-cart.com
The key sentence is "Please update your site ASAP to protect yourself from those who have nothing better to do than wreak havoc on your business website.". And the thread listed in the email didn't say anything about you need to do this manually. I don't remember or have the first email I received, I maintain a lot of sites so I get a ton of mail I have to wade through every day. But again, no warning that it will trash your site when you update.
So anyway... I assumed and apparently others did too, that if I upgrade it will patch the system and I won't need to worry.
But in another thread there is the warning about what it will do to your site. How hard would it be to include that in the notifications/reminders?
I have over 75 websites to maintain, I don't have the time to spend looking for warnings when I do an upgrade. Other software developers provide warnings on a major change to the software, why can't Zen Cart too?
It would make for happier end users and hosting providers who help support Zen Cart by having it on their servers and using their software.
Correct?
Or am I wrong here?
I was lucky and the hosting provider was able to reinstall the previous version backup because there was a problem with my CPanel backups. Then I manually updated.
But I wasn't happy that I had to mess around longer than I needed to with this and almost lost the clients pages. Now I need to figure out what I need to do to do a "full" upgrade.
My four cents...
Bob