Forums / General Questions / Saving Products & Transferring

Saving Products & Transferring

Locked

Views: 994

Results 1 to 3 of 3
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
3 Nov 2006, 11:18 PM
#1
turtledove avatar

turtledove

Zen Follower

Join Date:
May 2006
Posts:
182
Plugin Contributions:
0

Saving Products & Transferring

I haven't visited the site in a while, and was pleasantly surprised over the new layout! B E A U T I F U L <3

Anyways, I think that the time for me to update the layout of my site has reared the corner.

I don't want to completely start over from scratch, meaning, I don't want to lose all my of listed products and its descriptions.

I'm planning to uninstall the zencart that I have now, and install a brand new one. But, I want to keep the products and descriptions. Is this possible?

Or is there a way for me to only save the products and descriptions, and upload them onto the new zencart installed?

4 Nov 2006, 12:15 AM
#2
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: Saving Products & Transferring

You could just make a new database and load a copy of your Live site database into it ... then make a new directory for building the new shop: /new_shop

Load all of Zen Cart v1.3.6 to the /new_shop

Copy the two configure.php from your Live Shop to:
/new_shop/includes/configure.php
/new_shop/admin/includes/configure.php

Edit these 2 files and change the paths and database, username and password to the new path for /new_shop and your new database ...

Run the /new_shop/zc_install

Run the UPGRADE DATABASE ...

NOTE: on really old, old sites you may wish to run the UPGRADE CFG FILES as well ...

Now build your /new_shop ...

When you have everything perfect ... you will want to set the Live Site to Down for Maintenance ... backup your Live Site and drop the tables in the /new_shop database and load the backup of the fresh Live Site ...

Then run the /new_shop/zc_install and UPGRADE DATABASE again so it is current ...

Note: it is always a good idea when upgrading to go through all of the Modules for Payment, Shipping and Order Totals and write down the settings then Remove, Install and Re-configure these ...

There are numerous sites with more details on this upgrade process if you need it ...

Linda McGrath
If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

**Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!**

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today!]
Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

4 Nov 2006, 9:52 PM
#3
turtledove avatar

turtledove

Zen Follower

Join Date:
May 2006
Posts:
182
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Saving Products & Transferring

Ajeh,

Is there way for me to just save product information/pictures/descriptions and customer information on the Live site, and transfer this information into my development site?

Thanks!