Forums / General Questions / Strange request :) -- restrict all my store to wholesale only

Strange request :) -- restrict all my store to wholesale only

Locked

Views: 1,212

Results 1 to 3 of 3
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
23 Nov 2006, 8:58 PM
#1
mooncavecrystals avatar

mooncavecrystals

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Sep 2006
Posts:
455
Plugin Contributions:
0

Strange request :) -- restrict all my store to wholesale only

Hi All,
Ok, after doing ecommerce for four years, I am burned out, so am taking a break. I have a conundrum as I do not want my customers to be able to view the shopping cart until I am ready to come back, however, I want to be able to somehow let my wholesale customers still have the site available.

I can password protect the site and remove it totally, which is what I am leaning to, but what if I want to make it available only to my wholesale customers?

Am i making any sense?? yes, I need a nap :blink:

23 Nov 2006, 9:34 PM
#2
stagebrace avatar

stagebrace

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Jan 2005
Location:
Tennessee
Posts:
985
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Strange request :) -- restrict all my store to wholesale only

Change your store to Must be Authorized to Browse.
Admin>Configuration>Customer Details>Customer Approval Status - Authorization Pending>1

Change all but your wholesale customers to Unauthorized.
Admin>Customers>Customers>Change to unauthorized status by clicking on the Green button and changing it to Red .

If a new wholesale customer signs up you will need to Authorize them.
Admin>Customers>Customers> change Unauthorized status to Authorize by clicking on the Red button and changing it to Green.

1 May 2007, 8:55 AM
#3
beeunique avatar

beeunique

New Zenner

Join Date:
Jan 2006
Posts:
51
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Strange request :) -- restrict all my store to wholesale only

Hi,
This is similar to what we would like to be able to do -
At present all customers are automatically approved for browsing/shopping etc and we would like it to stay that way for all new customers by default. However we do have some problem customers who's accounts we would like to restrict from time to time (stop slow payers ordering again until account clear etc). These customers are rare but they do shop with us and eventually pay so we dont want to close their accounts completely but would like the option to change status to 'browse with prices but cannot purchase' or similar. When we change the status in a customers account at present it does nothing at all and they can still shop as normal. If we change setting in customer configuration as shown above it then puts all new customers as unauthorised too which is not convenient for us unfortunately.

Is there a way for all customers to be authorised but you are able to 'switch off' the authorisation without having to delete the account?
The website is https://www.beeunique.co.uk
Thanks for any help or advice you can give
Nickki