Forums / General Questions / What happens when I reset my activity log?

What happens when I reset my activity log?

Locked

Views: 2,013

Results 1 to 6 of 6
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
12 Dec 2006, 5:23 AM
#1
tenacious avatar

tenacious

New Zenner

Join Date:
Dec 2006
Posts:
3
Plugin Contributions:
0

What happens when I reset my activity log?

Will all my previous customers and resent sales dissapear when I reset my activity log? How do I back-up this information if so?

12 Dec 2006, 5:28 AM
#2
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: What happens when I reset my activity log?

They activity log is your admin_activity_log table ... this records what happens in the Admin for reference etc.

When it gets 50,000 records or is 60 days old, a warning will remind you to clean it up ...

As it can get large ... it is a good idea to do so ...

Linda McGrath
If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

**Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!**

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today!]
Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

12 Dec 2006, 5:34 AM
#3
tenacious avatar

tenacious

New Zenner

Join Date:
Dec 2006
Posts:
3
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: What happens when I reset my activity log?

So will all my customers information will still be stored under the customer drop down menu?

12 Dec 2006, 5:44 AM
#4
ajeh avatar

ajeh

Oba-san

Join Date:
Sep 2003
Location:
Ohio
Posts:
62,757
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: What happens when I reset my activity log?

The only table touched is the admin_activation_log

It is not used by anything in Zen Cart other than a way to log activity in the Admin ...

Emptying it has no effect on any of your data other than you are eliminating admin tracking which is only there incase of a problem where you want to see what was being done at a given time or date and by whom ...

Linda McGrath
If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

**Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!**

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today!]
Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

12 Dec 2006, 5:49 AM
#5
tenacious avatar

tenacious

New Zenner

Join Date:
Dec 2006
Posts:
3
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: What happens when I reset my activity log?

Cool thanks a bunch! I just didn't want lose any info for tax purposes and stuff.

15 Dec 2006, 9:04 AM
#6
tajul_ashyqin avatar

tajul_ashyqin

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Apr 2006
Location:
Labuan Island
Posts:
362
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: What happens when I reset my activity log?

When you click that reset button just 5 lines of code are executed.

  1. $db->Execute("delete from " . TABLE_ADMIN_ACTIVITY_LOG); These delete all entries from the activity log table

  2. **$db->Execute("optimize table " . TABLE_ADMIN_ACTIVITY_LOG); **This compresses that table down to reclaim the space it occupied

  3. **$messageStack->add_session(SUCCESS_CLEAN_ADMIN_ACTIVITY_LOG, 'success'); **This logs that you did it

  4. **unset($_SESSION['reset_admin_activity_log']); **This clears a session variable needed to warn you it needed doing

  5. zen_redirect(zen_href_link(FILENAME_STORE_MANAGER)); This refreshes the store_manager page

I hope that make sense and yet you are advice to do a BACKUP of your databases before you do the reseting!!! :smartass:

"Whether you think you can, or you think you can't... YOU ARE RIGHT."
GOOD LUCK !!!