Zen Cart Logo
Forums / General Questions / Deleting Items Question

Deleting Items Question

Locked

Views: 902

Results 1 to 4 of 4
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
28 Jul 2007, 6:46 PM
#1
mcanes avatar

mcanes

Zen Follower

Join Date:
May 2007
Posts:
210
Plugin Contributions:
0

Deleting Items Question

If i know that I am not needing an item anymore is there any reason i should not delete it? Will this break any integrity in the DB anywhere?

Reason I ask is because I have tons of items that are old and can no longer be ordered, but they are clogging up my admin section.

Thanks

28 Jul 2007, 6:48 PM
#2
humbll avatar

humbll

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
USA
Posts:
219
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Deleting Items Question

if you are not needing the product then delete it and update the sitemap..

28 Jul 2007, 7:49 PM
#3
mcanes avatar

mcanes

Zen Follower

Join Date:
May 2007
Posts:
210
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Deleting Items Question

What if someone has ordered this item in the past? Will anything be lost if they attempt to login and look at their old orders or something.

Thanks

28 Jul 2007, 8:48 PM
#4
humbll avatar

humbll

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
USA
Posts:
219
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Deleting Items Question

Well, i am not sure if the previous order is stored as a seperate line in the db, but i don't think it will affect any of that. Create a product. Do a test order of that product, then delete the product, then go log in and view the (now previous) order. See what your customer will see. If it screws up, leave the old products in the site.. i doubt it will affect ianything...