Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Bug Reports / [Done 2.0.0] Delete Customer Bug

[Done 2.0.0] Delete Customer Bug

Locked

Views: 1,910

Results 1 to 3 of 3
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
30 Oct 2007, 2:12 PM
#1
alex_clarke avatar

alex_clarke

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Mar 2006
Posts:
909
Plugin Contributions:
1

[Done 2.0.0] Delete Customer Bug

Ok, I think I've found a bug with Zen Cart 1.3.7.1.

If a customer is signed in to their account you are still able to delete that customer (via the admin), which is fine. However, after deleting that customer they are still signed in (to the catalog side of the website) and they can still edit their account information (as normal).

While these edits are not actually written to the database the website still informs the customer that these changes have been made.

I did some further testing and created a user account, proceed to step 1 of the checkout process, deleted the user account and tried to continue to checkout. The following message was displayed to me.

Customer information cannot be validated!
Please login or recreate your account ...

Shouldn't this message also be displayed to customers who have been deleted (while signed in) and are trying to edit their account information.

Maybe customers should be forced to log off in this case?

30 Oct 2007, 3:38 PM
#2
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,513
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: [Done 2.0.0] Delete Customer Bug

Sure - a minor bug.

The real question is ... Why are you deleting customers while they're shopping?

30 Oct 2007, 10:16 PM
#3
alex_clarke avatar

alex_clarke

Totally Zenned

Join Date:
Mar 2006
Posts:
909
Plugin Contributions:
1

Re: [Done 2.0.0] Delete Customer Bug

I was working on a test site on my local machine. At the time I was logged on to the website as a customer and viewing the 'My Account' page.

From the admin section I went to delete a test order (that I just placed), but by mistake I deleted my customer record! :(

Then I wanted to know how Zen Cart would react to this, so I performed my tests (as outlined in my previous post).

I agree it's a minor bug, I just wanted to make you aware in case it could be exploited in some way.