Zen Cart Logo
Forums / General Questions / Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

Locked

Views: 1,639

Results 1 to 4 of 4
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
5 Dec 2007, 10:56 PM
#1
moktar avatar

moktar

New Zenner

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Posts:
17
Plugin Contributions:
0

Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

Hello,

Lets say I have a running shop and I want to add a new language.

Is there a way to disable or hide it from normal visitors, while I populate it (ez-pages, products, language files...).

The point is that it cannot be done in a few minutes. I don't want to put the site down on maintenance during days if I need them to add the language and I don't want visitors to use the new language until it is fully ready.

Is there a way to do this ?

Thank you.

5 Dec 2007, 11:12 PM
#2
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,513
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

Turn off the language sidebox, via Admin->tools->layout boxes controller ... that way customers won't have any option to select the other language.

6 Dec 2007, 11:22 AM
#3
moktar avatar

moktar

New Zenner

Join Date:
Jan 2007
Posts:
17
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

yes, that's fine to add a second language. But what if I have already 2 languages and I want to add a third ?

6 Dec 2007, 12:00 PM
#4
drbyte avatar

drbyte

Sensei

Join Date:
Jan 2004
Posts:
63,513
Plugin Contributions:
176

Re: Prepare for a new language: disable or hide it from visitors until ready

Then you'll have to write custom code to disable the extra languages. Perhaps add some filtering logic to an override of the init_languages script.

Or maybe set up a "development" site and make all your customizations in a safe place, which won't impact your live store. And then migrate your changes to the live site when ready.