Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Installing on a Linux/Unix Server / Uploading only the revised template to server

Uploading only the revised template to server

Locked

Views: 1,610

Results 1 to 2 of 2
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
17 Jan 2008, 9:29 PM
#1
wwwursa avatar

wwwursa

Zen Follower

Join Date:
Oct 2007
Posts:
163
Plugin Contributions:
0

Uploading only the revised template to server

I am about to move my Zen Cart from my local computer to HostMonster. Before doing that, have one question.

After uploading to my server I will still want to make changes to my template which I want to make on my local server first to make sure everything is right.

I then want to upload the new template to the remote server without making any changes to the product inventory on the remote server.

How is this done?

17 Jan 2008, 9:40 PM
#2
kobra avatar

kobra

Black Belt

Join Date:
Aug 2005
Location:
Arizona
Posts:
31,500
Plugin Contributions:
4

Re: Uploading only the revised template to server

One way and best if you are changing many different files and using the template overrides is to package all template specific folders in the full structure and upload this as a single unit.

Example - brief:

Includes
     languages
          english
               your_template
                    files
     templates
          your_template
               files

You can then FTP the complete includes folder as above to your host and the files will transfer to where they belong.

Host panel should be where you can see the includes folder(not what is in it) drag/transfer local includes to the host and do not drop it on a folder just to the open panel