Zen Cart Logo
Forums / Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout / Define pages editor and the override

Define pages editor and the override

Locked

Views: 1,450

Results 1 to 3 of 3
This thread is locked. New replies are disabled.
5 Sep 2008, 2:52 AM
#1
thedancinggecko avatar

thedancinggecko

New Zenner

Join Date:
Jun 2008
Posts:
17
Plugin Contributions:
0

Define pages editor and the override

Ok, I think I am getting to understand how to use the override system and I have used the charts to make my override directories.

Now...I have made a lot of changes using the "Define pages editor"

Will an upgrade undo all of this?? If so, how do I 'override' these files?

Thanks from a new guy.

Mike J

5 Sep 2008, 5:29 AM
#2
gjh42 avatar

gjh42

Black Belt

Join Date:
Jul 2005
Location:
Upstate NY
Posts:
21,876
Plugin Contributions:
8

Re: Define pages editor and the override

Yes, an upgrade will reset the original define page files. If you copy them to the same location in your custom template folder structure, the custom copies will automatically be recognized and used instead of the stock location copies. When you upgrade, the stock copies will be reset, but that won't matter.

5 Sep 2008, 5:58 PM
#3
thedancinggecko avatar

thedancinggecko

New Zenner

Join Date:
Jun 2008
Posts:
17
Plugin Contributions:
0

Re: Define pages editor and the override

Thanks,
I made a copy of all the define pages into my custom folder and it seems like now the 'Define pages' reads from my custom folder files...:clap:

So.....It looks like now, that any changes that I make to any 'Define' page from the admin panel will now be make on the ones in my new custom folder and any update down the line should not mess with them.

Thanks again.